We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we talking about the same place?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Are we talking about the same place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 3 star average hotel and I'm feeling generous tonight. Everyone was nice and courteous enough, but everything was just SO outdated and faded. Breakfast was really not special at all and I was just totally underwhelmed. It's just fine for one night, just don't expect anything special at all. I couldn't feel more neutral.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear africantraveler1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note your positive comments about the courtesy of our colleagues.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to enhance guest satisfaction and ensure memorable experiences to all our guests.

I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of breakfast in order to serve a variety of cuisines and boost guest satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    203
    129
    53
    29
See reviews for
69
83
46
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport more or less given the size and high level of traffic in the city. However, the hotel is only average. It is quite outdated and it did not feel clean. Staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. There are other hotels in the city that are nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear glittercat,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us I greatly appreciate you taking the time share your comments with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our guests. Your comments are vital to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure continued guest satisfaction.

Once again, we appreciate your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose InterContinental Hotels and Resorts for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two business trips so far this year, and I'm very satisfied with the standard, service level and mostly with the friendly and professional approach by the staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Lillemor B

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After arriving at 9pm after a long day flying and being a Platinum member for 9 years i was expecting a quick shower, some food and then sleep. Not here! 40 min wait to get a room, dinner offered and then removed, £20 per day internet charge (seriously it is 2013), some staff excellent though some incompetent and depending who you talk to you get a different answer to your questions.

This hotel has the business market because of the name but for a leisure traveller it would be madness to stay here with all the other options now available in Nairobi.

I complained to the GM (Karl) who I have to say was very impressive and understood my complaints but he has a difficult job if he wants the leisure market. I recommend he goes to Art Caffe and steals their staff and moves on some of the ones he has who maybe think they don't need to treat people in shorts the way they do people in a suit.

These days hotels should be funky, up to date technology, smart and vibrant. This one is stuffy and old fashioned where a guy shining shoes would not look out of place.

The hotel is clean, comfortable etc just incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: Look at the new hotels and apartments for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Cakealito,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced from our staff. We are confident the hotel will continue working with their staff to improve the level of service offered for our guests.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullswater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms were fantastic, and everything about the service is good. My only difficulty with this hotel is value for money. There are better places to stay in Kenya, it seems that the hotel tries to live up to a reputation it slightly fails to achieve.
Secure and nicely located within the city the pool and facilities are of a good standard but not brilliant. Like many other reviews a little updating is required in a few areas. The restaurants serve a good standard of food but nothing to exquisite, again value for money is questionable.
But comfortable rooms and a huge bed was welcoming, a good view of Nairobi is a nice touch if your room is at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Loggy_Shopper,

Thank you for sharing this candid feedback with us. We are indeed humbled that you have spared time to share such honest feedback with the hotel.

We acknowledge that certain areas of the hotel are in need of refurbishment and that food quality could be improved on.

The hotel has undertaken soft lite refurbishment in certain parts of the hotel and are also focusing on food quality and variety.

It is our hope in your next visit you will notice the difference given the efforts we have taken base on guest feedback.

Once again, I appreciate your kind feedback.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In all fairness we only stayed one night on our way into the interior for safari, however after reading the many reviews I can say that for the most part they are accurate. The staff is well trained, kind, attentive and there for anything you need.

The rooms are equally clean and fresh however in dire need of an update, but then given this part of the world it's pretty good. We slept well and felt safe, and thats the bottom line these days feeling safe.

However that's as far as it goes, the food is a completely different story. I have traveled and still do to many countries and can appreciate that it is not our country and that the host country has it;s own food choices. Having said that the food in the Terrace is poor and lacking in taste. It adjoins the "fine dining" of the hotel which is India, "nach" again this part of the world and it is reflective of the food offering and I am not a India 'curry" fan. And should not be when eating in an international hotel. Had we stayed there another night we would have gone out for food.

In past reviews the manager always answers with "thank you" and we will take it under advisement, I just hope that they do redo this property as I am surely retuning within two years

At the end if the day its a safe bet for Nairobi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ghostrider5408,

Thank you for taking your valued time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. It was a pleasure to receive feedback from you about your most recent stay with us.

I note that our service delivery fell short of your expectation and we truly regret this. I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of food in order to serve a variety of cuisines, to enhance guest satisfaction.

Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated. We hope to meet and surpass your expectations during your future stay with us.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Intercon Hotel is a Hotel that is evolving with the country. My first stay here was in 2004. They Hotel has made vast improvements in things like flat screen TV's, new furniture and decor, the Club Intercontinental is very very nice, and the Internet is 200% better than my first experience. The one thing that has not changed is the kindness of the people who serve. George and Felix meet you at the door with a smile and if you are returning, your name and they even try hard to remember you. Siamanta Martha is ready to check you in with a smile and a preprepared accommodation. Samson is one of the many improvements. When I first stayed, he was the internationally known, bigger than life, head bellman. Now they have recognized his value and promoted him to head Concierge. He is always ahead of the game and ready to meet any need. The club on the sixth floor is well staffed. Lucy and the rest do an amazing job and the young cooks are always ready to supply and fulfill any of your custom request. Finally, the area that has improved the most is the wifi capability of the building. While there are still some needed up-grades, the service is much improved and getting better each day. The best up-grade is Kennedy. He is an enthusiastic assistant, knowledgeable of the system, and familiar with most operating systems. He helped my trip become superior and special rather than just great. It is nice to find an employee who is competent and smiles while he works. Thank you Kennedy.

Well, if you're looking for a US Family resort that is quiet and still and luxury at every turn,this is not your place. If you desire a business friendly, well appointed, competently staffed Hotel where customer service is king, then this is your place. Oh yea, don't forget to have a great massage by Jane down in the basement spa. She is great and truly African.

This is the place to stay for great customer service, good food, clean rooms, and relaxing style. It's in my book as the place to go when working in Africa.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club floor, it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear livinfast,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your ‘home away from home’. I am delighted to note that after many years, you find InterContinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice to cater for your accommodation needs.

I appreciate the time you took to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. Your comments and reviews do help with us in our quest to provide the best possible service experience our guests.

Your observation about our improved hotel facilities and staff service quality is very much treasured. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and make your every visit memorable.

On behalf of the management team, I have conveyed your compliments to Samson, Siamantha, Felix, George, Kennedy, Lucy and Jane, from both the Front Office and Health Club departments and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction and will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated and we hope to meet and surpass your expectations during your future stay.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.