We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home in Central and Eastern Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My Home in Central and Eastern Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Intercon Hotel is a Hotel that is evolving with the country. My first stay here was in 2004. They Hotel has made vast improvements in things like flat screen TV's, new furniture and decor, the Club Intercontinental is very very nice, and the Internet is 200% better than my first experience. The one thing that has not changed is the kindness of the people who serve. George and Felix meet you at the door with a smile and if you are returning, your name and they even try hard to remember you. Siamanta Martha is ready to check you in with a smile and a preprepared accommodation. Samson is one of the many improvements. When I first stayed, he was the internationally known, bigger than life, head bellman. Now they have recognized his value and promoted him to head Concierge. He is always ahead of the game and ready to meet any need. The club on the sixth floor is well staffed. Lucy and the rest do an amazing job and the young cooks are always ready to supply and fulfill any of your custom request. Finally, the area that has improved the most is the wifi capability of the building. While there are still some needed up-grades, the service is much improved and getting better each day. The best up-grade is Kennedy. He is an enthusiastic assistant, knowledgeable of the system, and familiar with most operating systems. He helped my trip become superior and special rather than just great. It is nice to find an employee who is competent and smiles while he works. Thank you Kennedy.

Well, if you're looking for a US Family resort that is quiet and still and luxury at every turn,this is not your place. If you desire a business friendly, well appointed, competently staffed Hotel where customer service is king, then this is your place. Oh yea, don't forget to have a great massage by Jane down in the basement spa. She is great and truly African.

This is the place to stay for great customer service, good food, clean rooms, and relaxing style. It's in my book as the place to go when working in Africa.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club floor, it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear livinfast,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your ‘home away from home’. I am delighted to note that after many years, you find InterContinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice to cater for your accommodation needs.

I appreciate the time you took to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. Your comments and reviews do help with us in our quest to provide the best possible service experience our guests.

Your observation about our improved hotel facilities and staff service quality is very much treasured. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and make your every visit memorable.

On behalf of the management team, I have conveyed your compliments to Samson, Siamantha, Felix, George, Kennedy, Lucy and Jane, from both the Front Office and Health Club departments and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction and will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated and we hope to meet and surpass your expectations during your future stay.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    201
    125
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Intercontinental Nairobi offers the best Lasagna and bar ( both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks) in my experience. The Indian Restaurant is also to die for, not forgetting the sumptuous breakfast table and lunch time buffets. I can recommend their food anytime. i have never spent a night so I am not able to comment about the rooms.

I can recommend it anytime as a wonderful place for your meetings, chill outs or just a sumptuous dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Hjkenya,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It was a pleasure receiving your compliments about our services. I have also noted that you had an opportunity to visit our restaurants and have had a memorable experience.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and satisfaction to our guests.

I look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with the other reviews which say that the hotel is a little dated, but it's certainly clean and secure with mostly good service and located close to the town centre and a short walk from the weekend craft market. Nairobi Hotels seem expensive by comparison with many places I've stayed, but you can save a bit of cash by opting for the a la carte breakfast. Unless you have a massive appetite, you'll never justify the cost of paying for breakfast up front. The in house Indian restaurant is excellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear John-frae-Banff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note that your experience at the Bhandini (Indian Restaurant) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I dont know if you can give an accurate review from a one night stay but nonetheless here it goes. Apart from th security guards, luggage scanners and , metal detectors this place is very inviting lol this is Africa. Seriously, I found it to be warm and pleasant. It's a little dated and you can tell but the rooms were pretty clean, bed was soft, and the staff was very very nice and helpful. They will try to get every last dollar from you but if you understand that your in Africa and everything is negotiable you will be just okay. Ordered room service and the club sandwich was decent and very edible. I did not have time to check out the restaurant but I did grab a very nice cappuccino and a Kenyan Croissant ( kenyans make their croissants to be moist instead of crunchy, I actually think it's very tasty and really enjoyed it but if your used to crispy flaky croissants you may be disappointed, I certainly wasn't. Would I return here? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear dgirma1980,

We are very grateful for your kind remarks and that you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Nairobi. It has always been our goal to provide only the best quality services and facilities to our guests and it is gratifying to learn that our efforts are appreciated.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here before going on Safari. Central Location which was convenient, but somewhat noisy. They did have a wonderful outdoor patio/bar area with a projection screen. Room was neat and clean and good sized. Overall a decent place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience at the Makuti Bar which is the outdoor bar was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I was here for 4days conference and enjoyed every single day and wish to go back for sure.The staff is great,lovly and hardworking.The rooms were quite luxurious with tasteful decor.The food was great and the hotel was quite stunning.The gym and spar are also excellent and on the highest level.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear KdKokoyo,

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently offer superb service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

It will be our pleasure to host you again during your future stays.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended up here for a night after our airline unilaterally cancelled our tickets. Hotel was nice enough, quite comfortable with good facilities. Although we didn't pay for the accommodation, I think I would have been a little disappointed with what we got if we were paying - whilst a good size, the room was a little dated. The bathroom had a shub (I always hate them), and the shower head needed replacement. The pool area is nice, and the Makuti Bar outside is a great place for late afternoon/early evening drinks. Staff were very good and friendly in general, so compliments there. Overall, a very nice hotel, but gets three stars based on perceived value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Wandering_Saffa,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. We are pleased to note that our hotel facilities made your stay comfortable, coupled with friendliness of our colleagues. I am glad you had the opportunity to visit the Makuti bar and that you enjoyed your time there.

I hope InterContinental Nairobi will still be your preferred choice of lodging for your future travel needs in Kenya.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.