We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hotel; beautiful decor; nice restaurant; great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Downtown hotel; beautiful decor; nice restaurant; great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in Sept 2012--one at the beginning and one at the end of a 16-day Overseas Adventure Safari in Kenya and Tanzania. [I didn't rate Value because I don't know how much our room cost.] The hotel curbside and lobby appearance were impressive. Security is a priority and appeared ample--huge barriers prevented vehicles approaching the front of the hotel until inside and underside inspection were complete.

Public areas were beautifully furnished and spacious. Our rooms were well decorated and clean. The king size beds were comfortable--eight pillows of different firmness and a fluffy duvet. Towels were thick and large. Toiletries were high quality.

Our first bathroom had a weak flushing toilet that took several flushes to clear the bowl. Our second bathroom had a water leak from the floor above that trickled down but maintenance people were quick to fix it.

The breakfast buffet was enormous and excellent.

I was pleasantly surprised when the front desk exchanged $US for Kenyan shillings at the going rate and no transaction fee.

On the last day of our trip, I asked the concierge to confirm our flights. He was pleasant and apologetic, but he was unable to do so because their computer network wasn't working properly. He said we could go to their business hub and use a computer (for a fee) to confirm our flight ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sixyuz,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel in regards to your past stay with us. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our public areas, the room plus all its amenities.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    230
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
90
47
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having just left the intercontinental (in fact writing this as something to do in the airport)...The hotel is based more or less smack bang in the centre of the city, this means sadly that all the roads around the hotel are jammed with traffic that didn't seem to get any better regardless of the time of day, there is a major round about around the corner and the traffic lights usualy don't work. Saying that it is 30 minute from the airport on a good run, there is an intercontinental taxi service clearly signed as you exit the baggage collection area , try and book beforehand but I didn't and just showed my booking form and a taxi was there in 2mins and they charged it to my room aprox 2500 KS. I found ALL the staff very friendly and if you are a priority club member the free wifi worked a treat. If you need a taxi the concierge will get one for you and again it can be charged to your room for a small fee.my room on the 7th floor was large but a little bit tired, a saw a friends room on the 6th floor and his was much more modern so had been recently updated...I would say the lifts have a mind of their own and whatever the arrows indicate be prepared to wait a while and go up and then down ?? There are craft markets 5minutes walk away just ask the concierge (be prepared to get hassled..with a smile of course :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Colmon69,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so.

I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with the service our staff offered you. They will be glad to know that all their efforts to deliver service beyond expectations were fully appreciated. I would love the opportunity to have you back to Intercontinental Nairobi.

Hope you will still choose Intercontinental Nairobi the next time you’re in Kenya.

Kind Regards, Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental on Nov 5-6, 2012. The hotel i slocated at the heart of downtown Nairobi. It has a nice pool and a couple of good restaurants. the best one was the one by the pool. The rooms although a little outdated are very clean and the beds very confortable. The staff was very helpfull and even helped my party to hire a private driver for a day. Although they are places like restaurants, shopping, etc within walking distance, it is not wise to walk around at night. During the day it is ok but as the locals will tell you, Nairobi is not that safe of a place and robbery is a daily thing,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa. at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Juan V,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It’s our joy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to note that you had the opportunity to visit the Terrace Restaurant which is by the pool and I do hope that on your next visit, you will find time to dine at the Bhandini Restaurant which specializes in Indian Cuisines.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is good - being situated in the center of the city like Nairobi. However, that has its own hazards with the traffic snarls around the area.

The property is more than 40 years and surely is very dated in all aspects. The rooms, the restaurants and overall facilities need major overhauling in every respect - features, equipment, service delivery and upkeep.

Staff are friendly - WHEN THEY CHOOSE TO BE; otherwise, one is just a room # in this hotel which always is busy.

The Internet service is very flaky - as experienced in two recent visits and the standard answer is "that an upgrade is underway."

Unless there are reasons otherwise, there are better hotels in the city at a similar price.

Room Tip: Try and get a larger room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Aneesh2011,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review our property.

I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We appreciate and value your loyalty having been our guest on two previous occasions. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the Intercontinental Hotel Nairobi and hope for your continued support.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver service beyond expectations.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property is very old and while an attempt has been made to modernize the rooms, the overall hotel is not 5 star.
The beds are very comfy and the rooms large but not equivalent to other 5 star properties. The TV is very old and poor quality and the shower curtain and bath need a redo.
The staff are all very friendly and the breakfast buffet is good.
Cons are expensive wifi, old fashioned dining area and bathrooms.
Pro decent central location.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room and don't get a room by the elevators. its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear leighdermick,

Thank you for your review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our “friendly staff”.

We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am actually writting this from my room (318) today been 19 November 2012 and would like to advise you the quality of mt room is not remotely like the photos - room is shabby and worn out nothing like the photos on this link

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MarkH H,

I am glad that we were able to give you a change of rooms during your stay with us at. We hope that the deluxe rooms meet all your expectations.

Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and anything we can do to make your stay better is our pleasure.

Hope to see you soon and that Intercontinental Nairobi will always be your first choice here in Kenya

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental for two days and at the Hilton in Nairobi and would say just book this over the Hilton anyday, they are in the same along with the Serena another good hotel. Prices are about the same and you get so much more at the InterContinental over the Hilton.
Rooms are good and modern, staff are friendly, reception bar is social for meeting people and the Indian restaurant is excellent. Breakfast restaurant could do with updating, but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Manwering,

It is great to hear that you spent an enjoyable time here at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service meet your high expectations.

Your kind words about the staff have been conveyed to them. Such compliments go a long way in boosting their moral to continue to provide service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

I am delighted that you were able to visit the Bhandini restaurant, our Indian restaurant, and again we appreciate your compliments which have also been passed on to the team.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.