We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated property that needs major overhauling!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dated property that needs major overhauling!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is good - being situated in the center of the city like Nairobi. However, that has its own hazards with the traffic snarls around the area.

The property is more than 40 years and surely is very dated in all aspects. The rooms, the restaurants and overall facilities need major overhauling in every respect - features, equipment, service delivery and upkeep.

Staff are friendly - WHEN THEY CHOOSE TO BE; otherwise, one is just a room # in this hotel which always is busy.

The Internet service is very flaky - as experienced in two recent visits and the standard answer is "that an upgrade is underway."

Unless there are reasons otherwise, there are better hotels in the city at a similar price.

Room Tip: Try and get a larger room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Aneesh2011,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review our property.

I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We appreciate and value your loyalty having been our guest on two previous occasions. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the Intercontinental Hotel Nairobi and hope for your continued support.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver service beyond expectations.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    201
    123
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property is very old and while an attempt has been made to modernize the rooms, the overall hotel is not 5 star.
The beds are very comfy and the rooms large but not equivalent to other 5 star properties. The TV is very old and poor quality and the shower curtain and bath need a redo.
The staff are all very friendly and the breakfast buffet is good.
Cons are expensive wifi, old fashioned dining area and bathrooms.
Pro decent central location.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room and don't get a room by the elevators. its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear leighdermick,

Thank you for your review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our “friendly staff”.

We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am actually writting this from my room (318) today been 19 November 2012 and would like to advise you the quality of mt room is not remotely like the photos - room is shabby and worn out nothing like the photos on this link

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MarkH H,

I am glad that we were able to give you a change of rooms during your stay with us at. We hope that the deluxe rooms meet all your expectations.

Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and anything we can do to make your stay better is our pleasure.

Hope to see you soon and that Intercontinental Nairobi will always be your first choice here in Kenya

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental for two days and at the Hilton in Nairobi and would say just book this over the Hilton anyday, they are in the same along with the Serena another good hotel. Prices are about the same and you get so much more at the InterContinental over the Hilton.
Rooms are good and modern, staff are friendly, reception bar is social for meeting people and the Indian restaurant is excellent. Breakfast restaurant could do with updating, but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Manwering,

It is great to hear that you spent an enjoyable time here at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service meet your high expectations.

Your kind words about the staff have been conveyed to them. Such compliments go a long way in boosting their moral to continue to provide service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

I am delighted that you were able to visit the Bhandini restaurant, our Indian restaurant, and again we appreciate your compliments which have also been passed on to the team.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is pricy but you will get your money's worth.The only place that bothered me was the reception. If you check out and leave your luggage with the reception and then want to leave please ask for it well in advance or else you will miss your flight while waiting for the concierge to find first the key to the locker room then the luggage itself!!
I loved the atmosphere and the pleasantness of the staff. The food was okay but i mostly loved the fact that you can checking with only the clothes on your back and you will be okay.They provide more than most African hotels when it comes to necessities.
They have airport transportation and some local cabbies that are affiliated. These are really great since i forgot my phone in one of the cabs and it was returned.
All in all, if you are a complete stranger to Kenya, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Pheona W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to read your wonderful comment about our rooms and the stock of the necessities in the room. Also your kind review of our hotel taxis is greatly appreciated and will be conveyed to them.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi, Kenya


Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This does not give you a five star experience, the only silever lining is the restaurant at ground floor which offers excellent Mughlai cuisine, the property though in Central Business Districtly, is rather old, you may face issues in some rooms. In my view there is a need to revamp the interiors of the hotel , if management wants to provide good value to the tourists

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager- Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Kapil V

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate words about our hotel and in particular your comments about our restaurant at ground floor which offers excellent Mughlai cuisine .

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, to meet and exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had reached this place by luck only as we had taken some Safari Park hotel on landing the Travel agent had different ideas and put us in Intercontinental. As the name is famous i expected good service. Its ok service at the reception. The food was very expensive. Rooms are just ok. i expected much more from intercontinental.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar...so dont worry on it..if you end up here...just go to the random room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager- Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lal N,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.