We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but not quite Intercontinental Global Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
south africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not quite Intercontinental Global Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property is very old and while an attempt has been made to modernize the rooms, the overall hotel is not 5 star.
The beds are very comfy and the rooms large but not equivalent to other 5 star properties. The TV is very old and poor quality and the shower curtain and bath need a redo.
The staff are all very friendly and the breakfast buffet is good.
Cons are expensive wifi, old fashioned dining area and bathrooms.
Pro decent central location.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room and don't get a room by the elevators. its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear leighdermick,

Thank you for your review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our “friendly staff”.

We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    219
    136
    54
    31
See reviews for
77
87
47
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am actually writting this from my room (318) today been 19 November 2012 and would like to advise you the quality of mt room is not remotely like the photos - room is shabby and worn out nothing like the photos on this link

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MarkH H,

I am glad that we were able to give you a change of rooms during your stay with us at. We hope that the deluxe rooms meet all your expectations.

Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and anything we can do to make your stay better is our pleasure.

Hope to see you soon and that Intercontinental Nairobi will always be your first choice here in Kenya

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental for two days and at the Hilton in Nairobi and would say just book this over the Hilton anyday, they are in the same along with the Serena another good hotel. Prices are about the same and you get so much more at the InterContinental over the Hilton.
Rooms are good and modern, staff are friendly, reception bar is social for meeting people and the Indian restaurant is excellent. Breakfast restaurant could do with updating, but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Manwering,

It is great to hear that you spent an enjoyable time here at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service meet your high expectations.

Your kind words about the staff have been conveyed to them. Such compliments go a long way in boosting their moral to continue to provide service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

I am delighted that you were able to visit the Bhandini restaurant, our Indian restaurant, and again we appreciate your compliments which have also been passed on to the team.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is pricy but you will get your money's worth.The only place that bothered me was the reception. If you check out and leave your luggage with the reception and then want to leave please ask for it well in advance or else you will miss your flight while waiting for the concierge to find first the key to the locker room then the luggage itself!!
I loved the atmosphere and the pleasantness of the staff. The food was okay but i mostly loved the fact that you can checking with only the clothes on your back and you will be okay.They provide more than most African hotels when it comes to necessities.
They have airport transportation and some local cabbies that are affiliated. These are really great since i forgot my phone in one of the cabs and it was returned.
All in all, if you are a complete stranger to Kenya, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Pheona W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to read your wonderful comment about our rooms and the stock of the necessities in the room. Also your kind review of our hotel taxis is greatly appreciated and will be conveyed to them.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi, Kenya


Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This does not give you a five star experience, the only silever lining is the restaurant at ground floor which offers excellent Mughlai cuisine, the property though in Central Business Districtly, is rather old, you may face issues in some rooms. In my view there is a need to revamp the interiors of the hotel , if management wants to provide good value to the tourists

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager- Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Kapil V

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate words about our hotel and in particular your comments about our restaurant at ground floor which offers excellent Mughlai cuisine .

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, to meet and exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had reached this place by luck only as we had taken some Safari Park hotel on landing the Travel agent had different ideas and put us in Intercontinental. As the name is famous i expected good service. Its ok service at the reception. The food was very expensive. Rooms are just ok. i expected much more from intercontinental.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar...so dont worry on it..if you end up here...just go to the random room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager- Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lal N,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because KTB (Kenya Tourism Board) booked us here to attend the "Magical Kenya" Expo this year. We stayed here twice, one night on arrival before leaving to Nanyuki, and then 4 more nights on the way back to attend the Expo.

The first stay was alright, I was given a room which I would class as a 4 star. It was clean, but the bathroom was in a run down shape and the TV cabinet was broken. I said to myself its ok I can handle it, its only one night.

The disaster happened when we stayed on the way back, I was put in a room that can only be described as a prison cell ! There was no desk, no table, the bathroom was tiny and dirty, no head board on the bed, not even a table to place my bag on! I immediately called our Tour Guide and demanded a change ! I quickly went online and read some reviews on Trip Advisor so I know what rooms to ask for. I was changed within the hour to a deluxe category, now this is what Intercontinental standard should be ! The room was large, with luxury furnishing and amenities and a modern new bathroom. If you ever stay at this hotel, NEVER take any of the old rooms! You're better off sleeping in the street !

Location wise the hotel is perfect, located in the heart of the city with a walking distance from the Expo Centre , shops, cinema, and the Maasai Market. Safety is also guaranteed since there are guards 24/7 and a private parking area.

Food was 5 star quality, breakfast and dinner buffets were meters long packed with different kinds of food, desert, fruits, etc. You won't get bored eating at the hotel at all if you have a short visit.

Service is also good, all my requests were met on time and promptly and with a smile. They even let us leave some bags that had our formal clothes at the luggage room while we did our 5 day tour of Nanyuki and Maasai Mara. Though one bag was ripped as it seems it was lifted and moved with force, but it was a small inexpensive bag so I didn't make a fuss.

Overall, good hotel with good location, food and friendly staff. But I don't see myself staying here for leisure when I stay at Nairobi next time. Sorry.

Room Tip: Asked for the refurbished or club level rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear NileGuy77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to read your wonderful comment about our location, security, quality of food and friendly staff.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the condition of the room you had. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your need. I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.