We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“ok place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had reached this place by luck only as we had taken some Safari Park hotel on landing the Travel agent had different ideas and put us in Intercontinental. As the name is famous i expected good service. Its ok service at the reception. The food was very expensive. Rooms are just ok. i expected much more from intercontinental.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar...so dont worry on it..if you end up here...just go to the random room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager- Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lal N,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    231
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
90
47
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because KTB (Kenya Tourism Board) booked us here to attend the "Magical Kenya" Expo this year. We stayed here twice, one night on arrival before leaving to Nanyuki, and then 4 more nights on the way back to attend the Expo.

The first stay was alright, I was given a room which I would class as a 4 star. It was clean, but the bathroom was in a run down shape and the TV cabinet was broken. I said to myself its ok I can handle it, its only one night.

The disaster happened when we stayed on the way back, I was put in a room that can only be described as a prison cell ! There was no desk, no table, the bathroom was tiny and dirty, no head board on the bed, not even a table to place my bag on! I immediately called our Tour Guide and demanded a change ! I quickly went online and read some reviews on Trip Advisor so I know what rooms to ask for. I was changed within the hour to a deluxe category, now this is what Intercontinental standard should be ! The room was large, with luxury furnishing and amenities and a modern new bathroom. If you ever stay at this hotel, NEVER take any of the old rooms! You're better off sleeping in the street !

Location wise the hotel is perfect, located in the heart of the city with a walking distance from the Expo Centre , shops, cinema, and the Maasai Market. Safety is also guaranteed since there are guards 24/7 and a private parking area.

Food was 5 star quality, breakfast and dinner buffets were meters long packed with different kinds of food, desert, fruits, etc. You won't get bored eating at the hotel at all if you have a short visit.

Service is also good, all my requests were met on time and promptly and with a smile. They even let us leave some bags that had our formal clothes at the luggage room while we did our 5 day tour of Nanyuki and Maasai Mara. Though one bag was ripped as it seems it was lifted and moved with force, but it was a small inexpensive bag so I didn't make a fuss.

Overall, good hotel with good location, food and friendly staff. But I don't see myself staying here for leisure when I stay at Nairobi next time. Sorry.

Room Tip: Asked for the refurbished or club level rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear NileGuy77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to read your wonderful comment about our location, security, quality of food and friendly staff.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the condition of the room you had. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your need. I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rooms are comfortable, quiet (as long as you're not near/beside the elevator).,There is an interesting view of the city and acacia trees topped by marabou storks. I had to request a room change due to elevator noise and they were very accommodating. The ATM in the lobby is very convenient. This was part of a tour and it was a good location to recharge electronics. However, the nonavailability of in-room WiFi or even free WiFi was a negative.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear upstatelakelady,

We here at intercontinental Nairobi appreciate your great and positive review about your stay with us. We apologize for any hiccups you experienced during your stay but still happy that your overall experience was memorable. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is an old used-to-be-good hotel.
Right now the prices are unreal. They will communicate you a rate (170USD night) but they will put a 28% government tax, a 16% VAT , a Service Charge and a Training Levy (what???) ... This lack of transparency is really something of the past.. do not have the patience to deal with this kind of behavior anymore.

The indian restaurant in the lobby is ok, avoid the buffet restaurant by the pool.
Breakfast is not included and has a price of like 20USD... Internet is not included and is also over 20USD a day....

Avoid staying here if possible.

Room Tip: Nairobi is very noisy so there is not good chances of quiet sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear AlbertoBerlin

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A five night stay with honestly only one complaint/request: do something about your Internet. Business travelers need a reliable connection that ideally is free and not used as a cash cow that just can be milked forever. Time slots purchased that cannot be stopped by logging out are just ridiculous. A re-write of the software that manages time slots purchased is far over due.

The most important assets of the hotel, it's members of staff, are the reason why I'd come back any time. From check- in to porter, from room service to waiting staff in the lobby area, banquet manager, restaurant staff; all were efficient and very, very friendly.
A special request for a private table for eight was handled quickly and my party enjoyed a most enjoyable evening in a separately laid out room. Compliments for all those involved in arranging this at such short notice.

Most of our business meetings were downtown and we walked comfortably to those meetings. For our meetings in Upper Hill and Westlands we made use of the hotel chauffeur service which worked well at a reasonable cost.

A revamp of the old lady would be welcome as many parts of the hotel are getting dated and no longer meet the standards that go with the Intercontinental brand. As long as the hotel staff members keep up their standards and provide the service with their unique friendliness the hotel will be on my list, but please do something about your Internet.

Room Tip: Not able to compare various sections on offer, bit the section serviced from the lobby area was plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jjanaalt,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post this encouraging review.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our “efficient and very friendly staff”. I also appreciate your feedback on how well we handled your private table request.

As for the internet, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of InterContinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My business partner and I stayed at The Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi for four days last week. We actually transferred from Serena Hotel hoping to get more comfortable beds. The bed at InterCon were really comfortable; no problem here. We were unfortunately greeted by a rude host at the Priority Club check-in desk when we tried to explain that our Travel Agent had mistakenly left-out Internet provision in our package (the Hotel later comped us for Internet after our Agent intervened and after further talks with the Manager). Upon checking into our respective rooms, turns out we were supplied with the Standard Room despite paying a rate for the Deluxe Rooms which are more recently renovated. The Standard Rooms are seriously outdated and the carpets are caked in dirt especially at the corners (I dont' know how the dirt has collected since there was a Cleaner vacuuming every day). The furniture is dated (looks mid to late 90s) and my room had a musty cigarette smell. The service in the restaurants is slow including the Lobby restaurant. We are not heavy-set people but each of us had a chair break from under us in the Indian Restaurant as well as the Breakfast restaurant (furniture in the breakfast restaurant is also very dated). A cockroach walked on top of our table one night during dinner at the Indian Restaurant. A manager was not forthcoming and instead sent a surbodinate who spoke to us without looking us in the eye. Our experience at the InterCon was surprisingly dissappointing given we have stayed at other InterCon hotels around the world without experiencing such gross levels of service.

Room Tip: Request a Deluxe or Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear A N

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i stayed at intercontinental Nairobi hotel for 3 nights, it is a veru old hotel and you can see that in the furnature at the rooms and restuarant, breakfast variaties are ok but i didnt enjoyed it may be the food is not very tasty, the hotel location is ok. i think the hotel needs a serious renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Zameh,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay , and thank you for taking the time to write your review which we appreciate.

We have noted your comments and will consider them as we work on how to improve the hotel and the experience for our guests.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.