We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but oh so convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dated but oh so convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A five night stay with honestly only one complaint/request: do something about your Internet. Business travelers need a reliable connection that ideally is free and not used as a cash cow that just can be milked forever. Time slots purchased that cannot be stopped by logging out are just ridiculous. A re-write of the software that manages time slots purchased is far over due.

The most important assets of the hotel, it's members of staff, are the reason why I'd come back any time. From check- in to porter, from room service to waiting staff in the lobby area, banquet manager, restaurant staff; all were efficient and very, very friendly.
A special request for a private table for eight was handled quickly and my party enjoyed a most enjoyable evening in a separately laid out room. Compliments for all those involved in arranging this at such short notice.

Most of our business meetings were downtown and we walked comfortably to those meetings. For our meetings in Upper Hill and Westlands we made use of the hotel chauffeur service which worked well at a reasonable cost.

A revamp of the old lady would be welcome as many parts of the hotel are getting dated and no longer meet the standards that go with the Intercontinental brand. As long as the hotel staff members keep up their standards and provide the service with their unique friendliness the hotel will be on my list, but please do something about your Internet.

Room Tip: Not able to compare various sections on offer, bit the section serviced from the lobby area was plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jjanaalt,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post this encouraging review.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our “efficient and very friendly staff”. I also appreciate your feedback on how well we handled your private table request.

As for the internet, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of InterContinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    214
    132
    54
    30
See reviews for
74
85
47
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My business partner and I stayed at The Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi for four days last week. We actually transferred from Serena Hotel hoping to get more comfortable beds. The bed at InterCon were really comfortable; no problem here. We were unfortunately greeted by a rude host at the Priority Club check-in desk when we tried to explain that our Travel Agent had mistakenly left-out Internet provision in our package (the Hotel later comped us for Internet after our Agent intervened and after further talks with the Manager). Upon checking into our respective rooms, turns out we were supplied with the Standard Room despite paying a rate for the Deluxe Rooms which are more recently renovated. The Standard Rooms are seriously outdated and the carpets are caked in dirt especially at the corners (I dont' know how the dirt has collected since there was a Cleaner vacuuming every day). The furniture is dated (looks mid to late 90s) and my room had a musty cigarette smell. The service in the restaurants is slow including the Lobby restaurant. We are not heavy-set people but each of us had a chair break from under us in the Indian Restaurant as well as the Breakfast restaurant (furniture in the breakfast restaurant is also very dated). A cockroach walked on top of our table one night during dinner at the Indian Restaurant. A manager was not forthcoming and instead sent a surbodinate who spoke to us without looking us in the eye. Our experience at the InterCon was surprisingly dissappointing given we have stayed at other InterCon hotels around the world without experiencing such gross levels of service.

Room Tip: Request a Deluxe or Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear A N

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i stayed at intercontinental Nairobi hotel for 3 nights, it is a veru old hotel and you can see that in the furnature at the rooms and restuarant, breakfast variaties are ok but i didnt enjoyed it may be the food is not very tasty, the hotel location is ok. i think the hotel needs a serious renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Zameh,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay , and thank you for taking the time to write your review which we appreciate.

We have noted your comments and will consider them as we work on how to improve the hotel and the experience for our guests.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is an example of a mediocre hotel still living off its former glory. As one of the first international chains in Nairobi, it has the advantage of everybody knowing where it is. It also has a very professionally run conference centre. Aside from that, rooms are drab and old. Housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired and you will be charged through the nose for any extras like Internet. Service is incredibly slow, especially at the bell desk who took 45 minutes to locate a parcel. All in all it is much more of a 3 star experience at 4 or 5 star prices.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kannice,

Thank you for your recent visit with us and your comment and feedback on our location, facilities and service. We have gone through each line of your feedback and we will follow up to ensure service improvement according to the comments made.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to achieve the highest level of service excellence.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Nairobi.

Warm regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just checked in this afternoon. We moved from the Serena because it was not quite up to our standards, although quite good. We were greeted by a distracted clerk at the priority desk. After coming back in the late afternoon because our rooms weren't ready, we proceeded to have an argument with a different clerk because our booking apparently showed breakfast but no internet. When I showed her that the rate the hotel was offering online was the same and included both internet and breakfast she didn't care and told us we had to talk to our travel agent to fix this.

Got to the rooms finally and it is a sty. Hasn't been renovated in forever, stained carpets, no slippers, no phone on desk, barely any light. After staying at Intercons around the world this is very, very disappointing. Will be seeking an upgrade through our agent because this is 100% unacceptable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ed S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on InterContinental Nairobi.

We are disappointed that your stay was not as perfect as it should have been and we would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken on board and actions put in place.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in InterContinental Nairobi in the near future and to restore your confidence with us.

Warmest Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is pretty old but well maintained.It is at a stones throw from KICC and the commercial business district.Breakfast is pretty average with limited options for Vegetarians.It has an Indian restaurant,Coffee shop,An Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Aman-Tekriwal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We rely on you to know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope that we'll have many more chances to be of service to you.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I take the pleasure of passing great gratitude to the cordial reception and hospitality received at the Hotel InterContinental Nairobi. For the 2weeks I was there, i admit that the services were great, more so acknowledging the team at the ClubLodge, namely: Gladness, Ednah, Kemimah, Lucy and Hellen, that was superb and noteworthy service.

Keep up the great work and will most certainly be back!

Best,

Muhia

Room Tip: Relax and have a chat with a business partners, colleagues or a client at the ClubLodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Apple T,

It is great to see that you spent an enjoyable time at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service exceeded your high expectations.

Of course your observations about our Club Lounge staff especially Gladness, Edna, Jemimah, Lucy and Hellen have been conveyed to them and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction and will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

We look forward to your next visit which we hope to be in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.