We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and from start to finish it was great. I asked for the hotel to pick us up from the airport, they sent me numourous email confirmations which was wonderful and when I got to the airport, they were there waiting for us with a uniformed driver and a lovely car.

Check in was fast and effiecient and the room was lovely and cozy. The foldaway bed wasn't brilliant but if you that tired, you won't even notice. The staff were fantastic, always polite and willing to help. The bathroom was clean and near and the shower felt wonderful, more like a massage!

Breakfast was wonderful, such a variety that you just didn't know what to have! One night we went down to the indian restaurant but I wasn't that impressed but knowing the hotel had Halal meats and Chicken really made me feel even safer.

Would definately go there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Selina T

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about the fast and efficient check-in, fantastic staff, wonderful Breakfast and the great shower experience.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of InterContinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    243
    142
    57
    32
See reviews for
79
94
48
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

If you're going to spend this much money on a hotel then you're better on staying at the Hilton. The rooms are not worth the money that you pay for it. The taxidrivers out front will charge you double then if you will walk out to the street. And the location is such that you can't walk anywhere here.
It was overall good but I wont' stay here again if simply for the location

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Tonster007,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.
We value your comments and will look into the Taxi drivers issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back and suggest you try our new Deluxe wing for your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend and really would struggle to find fault with this hotel bearing in mind that it is a little dated and some modernising is needed but really you have to remember where you are. Kenya is an African country and you don’t have to look far to have an appreciation of how hard life can be. The staff were utterly delightful and courteous, the buffet breakfast was also very good and a range of choices for an evening meal all very good indeed. Most nights there is some kind of entertainment on but even so the ambience of the hotel belies its corporate chain feel. My room possibly could do with some updating but it was clean and comfortable and I can't imagine why anyone would have cause to complain. The hotel has quite a good gym (it does get warm in there despite the best efforts from the aircon you will struggle in the heat) and the pool is not bad either and probably the warmest I've been in. All told this is a good hotel - tons of westerners use it for their safari experience as a base and I never heard a single grumble. There is also a business centre and shopping too so really it's a great hotel and made especially good by the staff; lovely delightful people. There are 2 things to note - one is the room internet is too slow for Skype video calls the other is for the gentleman readers - you may see a few (extremely) attractive girls in the hotel that appear to be on their own (at the bar). These are not damsels in distress and need a shoulder to cry on, they are serious working girls; don't both them and they will not bother you - that big disease with the little name is rife in East Africa. Enough Said.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear richard h,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi , and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients. Your feedback for improvement is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The good thing about this hotel is that you get the quality and standards that you are used to from the intercontinental group - at least mostly.

The rooms are nice, bathrooms are a bit small, but feature proper amenities and are reasonably clean.

The pool terrace restaurant, at which breakfast is server desperately needs some overhaul. Unfortunately it gives the hotel a cheapish 3 start feeling.

All in all an ok 2 night stay, but we had much better in other hotels in Nairobi before. If you wish to be spoiled with luxury at a cheaper rate then the Intercontinental look for the Sankara in the Westlands!

Room Tip: ask for one of the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear richard h,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi , and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients. Your feedback for improvement is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This is now my umpteenth stay at this hotel and as an international traveller, staying at hotels worldwide, I cannot give it enough praise.

If you want a hotel with atmosphere, polite courteous and attentitive staff during your stay, book this one!

Mark,
September & October 2012.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mark O,

Thank you indeed for your great feedback about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

Your kind comments will encourage all of us to continuously strive to offer excellence service for our valued guests.

I am really happy to know that you noticed our polite, courteous and attentive staff. Yes, we are the hotel of choice for guests who want a hotel with atmosphere.

We are looking forward to your next visit to have another chance to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville,tn.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

got there 3am at 8am got a nock on door wanting to check the mini bar. the hotel needs updated expected more. went back two weeks later and found out they have a nice bar and restruant out side. to get in the hotel you feel like your going thur airport sec.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear tiremanKnoxville_tn_

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

On the other hand, let me also take this opportunity to apologize once again for any inconvenience that you may had from our 8am room check. Please be assured that it was well-noted by the management. I am happy that you enjoyed our nice bar and the Pool Side Restaurant.

Again, thank you and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a horrid hotel this is. The less said the better, so do choose a different hotel. After my stay I found several that would have surpassed this dump. Uninspired rooms down endless dark corridors. The musty smell of damp and mold. Small old bathrooms with unconscionable towels. I had one small bedside lamp and a light at the entry, that was it. More than 24 hours to finally get a desk lamp, still too little light to find anything in a suitcase at night.

Terrible food at the buffet, though luckily, I suppose, a limited selection of the same terrible food.

Anything to like? Well, most of the staff (excluding those in the business center who seemed to think their job was to be terse and rude). Otherwise most of those I encountered were pleasant.

Please do a bit of research on hotels in Nairobi, T&L had a recent article with good suggestions. I had lunch at the Karen Blixen lodge and occasion to see the suites there, it looked wonderful. So avoid the Icky IC whatever you do.

PS, I understand Sec of State Clinton stayed at the IC, but who knows when and I imagine she saw a very different sort of accommodation than you or I will.

Room Tip: There are none. I suppose if you could get a suite on a concierge level floor which might be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Constant_traveller45,

Thank you for taking the time to share with me your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly I would like to apologize that your stay was any less than perfect. We aim for nothing less than a wonderful experience for all of our guests and I must apologize that on this instance it was any less than this.

From the observation, I realize that you did not have a chance to try our renovated wing – the Deluxe Rooms. I kindly recommend this wing for your next visit.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and provide you with a flawless experience. Kindly contact me directly should you have the chance to return to the hotel and I would like to look after you personally

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.