We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Distinction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Service Distinction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the ICH Nairobi for a couple of nights at the end of July 2012 and was impressed by it's convenient location, keen attention to distinction and above all the professionalism and excellent service provided by the staff. The hotel is indeed one of the older properties in Nairobi - I visited the hotel several times as a young lad in the 80s and 90s and returned as an adult and in my opinion it's stood the test of time.

The rooms are big (in comparison to IC hotels in Europe), very clean and well provisioned. I used the priority club check in facility in the lobby area and that was fast, efficient and they were expecting me. My experience of the service was therefore exceptionally good right from the start.

Being balanced and also rooting for this hotel to achieve even greater heights - think some aspects of the rooms (e.g. The TVs and bathroom are due an upgrade). Otherwise can't fault the hotel.

Overall I think you'd enjoy a Nairobi stopover here - and don't think the trip advisor rating at 22 in Nairobi fairly reflects the hotel's standards (having stayed at some of the higher rated properties as well...).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear LondonTraveller05,

We truly appreciate your comments on Trip advisor and there is no better motivator than the praise of a happy guest. It is great to hear that you value us as your pick of best hotel in Nairobi.

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinions with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Nairobi, Kenya’s Best City Hotel

Warm regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    251
    147
    57
    33
See reviews for
84
97
50
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very high price point for this hotel, especially the breakfast which is average but very expensive. The room was well appointed, clean and spacious, but the bathroom felt dated. Staff are friendly and they try hard but service at front desk is extremely slow (and several colleagues had errors on their bills). The slowness of the service at the restaurant at lunch was really unacceptable considering that it was quite empty. The bar area isn't very atmospheric as it's effectively part of the lobby. I think that there are better hotels to stay at for this price in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear intrepidgirlLondon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent experience at the InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to know your wonderful comment about our well appointed, clean and spacious rooms.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom as well as your review on our front desk, restaurant and bar. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team to help us improve and make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

everything was perfect,the bed was too soft and comfy, the pillows were great,the service was first class,the food was too good.i would definately visit again,the employees do a great job in welcoming the guests and make u feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Hala, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear belzo8,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting our facilities.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at the Intercon in Nairobi while there for 10 days.

The hotel is not modern - it seems like an older one but it is very well kept up. The decor is old fashioned (dark woods, etc).

I stayed on the club floor and they had all the amenities that make that worthwhile - private reception and concierge, private lounge on the club floor, cocktail hour and breakfast served there, etc. Everything was basically up to the Intercon standard, so I had no reason to find fault with anything.

Room service was fine - expensive but good and prompt. Service was fine and also fully up to the intercon standard.

The location is excellent if need to be downtown by the city hall - I was working in Upper Hill so it was about five minutes to my office in a hotel car.

Recommend this without any reservation

Room Tip: get a room on the club floor with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Markie_Mark115,

Thank you for taking the time to write a most complimentary review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate your kind words of recommendation for our hotel. I am also happy to know that you enjoyed the added benefits that are available at the Club InterContinental lounge.

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

the hotel is well done equipped , the service is good and the food is excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Isaac K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us. We are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I write this review on behalf of my husband who stayed in this hotel twice : one night on his way to a safari and another night coming back. In one word, both his stays were excellent, he was granted a marvellous suite with access to the Club Lounge where food and drinks were plentiful and so tasteful. The service was more than perfect, he received such a warm welcome that he insists to name the staff who was exceptionally courteous, pleasant and so helpful : Miss Christine Njeremani, the Front Office Manager and Alex Konde. He noticed how efficient and kind was the whole staff, attentive to his needs.
The only one backdraw is the elevators, they are slow , they should be renewed,
After his positive comments, I am willing to try this Intercontinental with him on our next trip to Kenya.
Special thanks and compliments to the Management !

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Boutondargent,

It is great to see that your husband spent an enjoyable time here at InterContinental Nairobi and our team members’ service exceeded his high expectations.

Of course your husband’s observations about the staff especially Alex and Christine have been conveyed to them and they are so delighted to know that their efforts met his entire satisfaction and has encouraged them to continuously strive for excellence.

His valued comment that the elevators are slow has retained my full attention. We are working with the Lift Maintenance team to make it better.

We look forward to your next visit which we hope to be in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

All the staffs are very friendly and shows their smile for customers and are very supportive. I hope I will prefer to use this hotel and get the best service for my money if I come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Mestire D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.