We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spent a very relaxing sunday as hotel guest, enjoying the sun, the pool and an exellent Sunday Brunch buffet that really had something for everyone.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    203
    129
    54
    29
See reviews for
69
83
46
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I tend to expect more from a hotel bearing the Intercontinental brand. A lot more. This being said, after my fiasco at the New Orleans Intercont, I'm not surprised (if you care to read, look through my reviews for that one).

The hotel is in a desperate need of a face lift, a refreshment of some sort, or what not. Rumour goes, there are renovated rooms in one of the wings. Haven't seen them, so can't say anything. The rooms are rather mediocre, with bathrooms being clean on average, and that's about where it ends. I've asked for a room with 1 bed. Instead I'm being give a room with 2 (smaller) beds, and it is being announced very pompously - see how nice we are? We are giving you a room with 2 beds, for the price of a room with 1 bed. Seriously?

The internet is HORRIBLY overpriced. It's free at many other hotels, so I'm hard pressed to understand why do I have to pay for it. And so much at that.

Unfortunately there isn't much of a choice in Nairobi these days, so I'll have to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental Nairobi once about 8 years ago, before the rooms were renovated, and stayed here again in Jan 2012, but only because I didn't have to pay for the stay myself. Basically, if I have to pay for a hotel room in Nairobi, it wouldn't be here. This is not to say that things are bad or unacceptable, it is rather that there is not much to like about this place.

First of all, location. For travelers wanting to be close to downtown Nairobi, there are other hotels in a similar price range that are not located right next to the traffic and fumes of Uhuru Highway. I find it quite important to try to avoid the air pollution in Nairobi as much as possible.

Rooms. We stayed in a "suite", which is actually two connecting rooms that have been converted so that one has use of both rooms. One is for sleeping, with the beds in it, while the other room has living room furniture. Both rooms have TVs, bathrooms, and desks. The one good thing is the air-con, which worked well. Otherwise, not much to like about the rooms. Bed was comfortable and clean. But even though the rooms are supposed to have been renovated, everything still seems old and worn and chipped around the edges. Carpet in the rooms, especially, was very dirty -- saw housekeeping vacuuming in other rooms, but what they need to do is to do a good shampoo of the carpeting regularly. The tiled area near the desk and window also looked dirty and grimy. The room we stayed in was also not "ready" when we arrived -- it had towels and other stuff (clean) piled on the living room sofa, and it was only on the second day of our stay that bathrobes, flowers in vases, fruit etc. made their appearance.

Wifi is fine, reasonably fast for Kenya, but not cheap.

Food. Breakfast was ok -- a very lavish buffet spread by Kenyan standards. The Sunday "brunch" is worth mentioning -- it starts at noon and runs until 4pm, and has a very very big spread of lots of food, including nyama choma (roast meats) and fish and salads and desserts etc etc. Not cheap, but copious food. The Indian restaurant was shut for renovation during our visit -- what was funny was, I asked about opening times at reception when I checked in, and then called from my room to make a dinner reservation, which was accepted. It was only later that same day that I happened to pass and see that the restaurant was closed until the following week, and it still mystifies me that both reception and the person answering the phone seemed to think that it was open for business. Lastly, and perhaps the only thing which turned out to be nice, was when I enquired at breakfast about the Italian restaurant's menu, they could not find it immediately, but did send the menu up to my room shortly after breakfast.

Taxis at the hotel are safe but overpriced.

Security seemed good, all incoming vehicles received very thorough scrutiny before being allowed off the street into the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 209 cities Reviews in 209 cities
1,109 helpful votes 1,109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Expecting a much nicer place considering this is supposed to be 5 star and has a 5 star price. But this hotel is more along the lines of 2-3 stars at the very best. Dont expect much and you wont be disappointed. Restaurants over-priced. Gym not very good. Other than the security being very good and the location excellent in downtown, there is nothing left to say.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

we started our safari here and was an excellent place to relax after the long flight from Alabama.
could not have asked for more in a hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Intercontinental has average rooms (passable but not super-comfortable). Lighting in the rooms was really poor. Wifi and internet rates were exorbitant. ATM on premises as well as a couple of really overpriced shops. I felt safe walking around the surrounding Central Business District during the day although the area is mostly government offices with nothing in terms of restaurants or shops around. Taxis can be arranged to nearby attractions but for a premium price (but safer).

Check-in was incredibly slow both times (and when arriving in the middle of the night after flying 20 hours or after riding hours on bumpy roads, it wasn't exactly pleasing to wait so long to get to our rooms). Service was generally slow throughout the restaurant, baggage transfer and so forth. The main Terrace Restaurant actually had decent food and there's a pretty nice pool area to just hang out around. All in all, unless you're there on business, you're better off staying in one of the nicer suburbs closer to key Nairobi attractions and with more amenities close by.

Room Tip: Area around the hotel remains rather quiet overall, but when I had a room facing towards the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Like all chain hotels, Intercontinental offers impersonal hospitality, leaving no enduring impressions afterwards. The rooms facing the front are marginally better kept than those facing the back. Since it is in a busy part of the city, the nights may not be restful if you have got a room on the lower floors. The hotel swimming pool is actually an over-sized bath-tub, the surrounding lounge and patios are crowded in the evenings and on weekends. Quality of hotel staff below expectations per five star standards.
The hotel coffee shop serves over-priced brunches on weekends. The selection is extensive and includes local delicacies. The Indian restaurant, Bandhini, does serve good Indian food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_10, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback, the time you spent sharing your recent experience and apologize for not having delivered consistently an up to your expectation in all areas.
We are happy to hear that our Indian Restaurant "Bandhini" and the variety of our buffets exceeded your expectation.
Personalizing our services on all levels is a key focus and we will certainly share your encouraging comments with our employees.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in Nairobi in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.