We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Credit to the IHG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A Credit to the IHG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Copied my feedback to the hotel:

An excellent hotel.

All the staff at this hotel have shown real professionalism and concern to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Given that the hotel was fully occupied I think that they all did an excellent job.

I have stayed at approx. 30 Intercons - this hotel is one of my top 2 or 3. Particularly worthy of note was the attitude and care of xxxxxx in the club lounge - she is a credit to IHG.

Well done Intercontinental Nairobi!

Room Tip: Far end of the corridor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Landed in Nairobi for a conference,was taken aback with the awesomeness of the city,vibrant and cultured.

The Intercontinental was very good with the facilities being up to mark with any 5 star property,service was very good,rooms nice

Special kudos to the concerige,who arranged for a nice trip to the Nairobi National Park and his knowledge and eagerness to help

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have previously given a not-so great review to the Intercontinental Nairobi. This time around, I stayed at the Intercontinental for 6 days, doing business in Nairobi. I must say that I stayed at stayed at the Club Room Level therefore my experience might be influenced by this factor. The check-in was a breeze at the priority club desk in the lobby. My room was really nice. One thing I like about hotels in Kenya is the way they make "the bed" in the evenings and this was no exception. The added advantage of being on the club level was being able to use the club lounge on the 6th floor. Breakfast at the lounge is great as there were choices between al carte and buffet. My only complaint with the lounge is that it is really very loud with TV set at high volume and the business-types constantly on the phone. Also, the airport pickup/drop off rate ($30) is pretty much stiff for Kenya. The staff at the hotel provided excellent services for my conference and throughout my stay. I will stay here again but at the club level.

Room Tip: Club level floor and Rooms on club level are quieter. Also, corner units, away from elevators are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanzania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Intercontinental is great for business travellers to Nairobi. Situated in a central location, has a pool, the food is great, and it provides parking. The hotel was very busy when we were there but the staff was very friendly - from the concierge to room service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel prior to a safari and also before departing to Tanzania. It appears to be a popular choice for tour groups. Our checkin was fast and efficient. Our room was of average size and was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and could answer most questions. Since our meals were included in our package safari price I can't comment on individual menu selections. However, the buffet was large and very good. Breakfast was especially good. There is a bar in the lobby. There are two gift shops in the lobby which have a very nice selection of items at good prices. I stored an extra suitcase here while on safari and it was returned to me safely. We also stayed in a day room here when we returned to Nairobi prior to our flight home. We were in a different section of the hotel which appeared to be much updated over our room prior to the safari. Security appears good at this hotel which is important in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

As we were reviewing our first ever trip to Africa (kenya / tanzania), we were not sure of many of th ehotel chains we were plannign to sty in (despite having done searches etc) but we were very sure of Intercontinetal - having used th ehotel chain all over the world. However, our experience at the hotel was nothing short of pathetic. Confirmed bookings, staying there twice in our two week journey through Kenya, travelling with kids - nothing mattered at all. We had requested for extra beds for kids and arrived late night after nearly 24 hours in travel, to find rooms not ready and no extra beds. At midnight, received the poorest service, resulting in an hours delay. Broken toilet seats, no towels in the room - the list was endless.

what made it worse was the whole "no care" attitude of the staff and management and each time we raised a question, we were told that Samsung is doing its dealers meet there and we are totally sold out.

Thinking that every hotel has a bad day, we returned later to find even worse treatment. Again, noone honoured a confirmed booking, no extra beds and worse attitude. at 7pm , way past check in time, we were asked to wait in the Lobby for nearly 2 hours so that they could find us a room. This is when we had a confimed and reconfirmed booking for two rooms.

I left a strongly worded feedback for the General Manager of the hotel - but guess it has deserved no attention so far.

By the time we left, our kids said - Never again in Intercontinental.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Garimav,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Spent four nights here for a conference, so very convenient, and convenient for exploring central Nairobi, but sheesh, how about replacing the carpet every now and again and what's with the frequent overcharging and double billing for drinks?

Rooms are large, but pretty shabby. Carpet is dingy and worn, brasswear in the bathroom was all either falling off the wall or showing its brass...so old that the chrome plating had been worn off with use. Staff was very friendly, and on the two occasions when I needed something in my room (a lamp fixed, a bath towel when housekeeping had left me none) someone was there within five minutes, pretty good for a large hotel.

However, on a number of occasions, F&B staff attempted to either overcharge or involuntarily up-sell. One evening at dinner, when most of the table was drinking still bottled water, one of my colleagues requested sparkling. Rather than simply bring us the sparkling version of the local water we were drinking, she brought and opened, without consulting any of us, a US$11 bottle of Norwegian water. Huh?! Twice bar staff attempted to charge me too much, once for a 'double' that was only a single and another time for a more expensive wine than I ordered and was served. Another time bar staff attempted to double bill some members of our party. Once is a mistake, twice might be incompetence. Four times is a pattern.

A complaint to management elicited a concerned look and a promise to check into it, but in the end no one seemed to particularly care and promised contact with the F&B manager never materialized.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Innoabrd,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory and regret any inconvenience that your experience has caused you.
We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.