We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast & Lunch buffets are great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Lunch buffets are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel a total of 4 nights. The first 2 prior to leaving for safari, then an overnight stay on the way back from Northern Kenya on the way to Amboseli National Park and then once again at the end of the safari prior to flying to Capetown.

The InterContinental Nairobi, I would recommend. While it does seem to be a popular stop for those leaving on safari, it was also a popular spot for airline flight crews. The rooms are spacious, clean, beds comfortable, was in rooms facing the 'front' of the hotel and all was satisfactory. Stayed on the 3rd floor - nice to be able to take the stairs up and down & the 7th floor - bit too much to take the stairs!
There is a large tree outside and home to quite a few marabou storks - very large, great picture op! There is a main street that goes in front of the hotel and you can watch the locals walking to their destination in the morning and walking home in the evening, busy area, safe to venture out - talk to the concierge, he will arm you with a map and a walk to the city market is a must. You will learn to dodge the traffic like a local! But, do remember you are in a big city and be aware of your surrounds.

The hotel has a fantastic pool, nice way to relax after a busy day of sight seeing. The main dining area serves a wonderful breakfast and lunch buffet. If you love soup - the soups you will experience throughout Kenya are delicious. There is a dinner buffet, but didn't experience that, did order off the a la carte menu and that was good. There is a bar outdoors past the pool, as well as a bar in the main lobby of the hotel. There is also specialty restaurants - one serving pasta, the other Indian. The business centre is well lit, has a number of computers, and a staff member is in the centre ready to help you as needed. Internet/wifi is good and there is a nominal charge. The hotel does have a small casino, a number of gift shops. There is an atm machine, but not always in working order, the front desk will gladly change your money into Kenya Shillings. Please note that if you are traveling with travellers checks, the original purchase receipt is required if you try to cash those at the main desk.

All of the staff encountered were helpful and always have a smile on their face.

Upon entering the hotel by vehicle, there is a guard that opens and closes the gate when vehicles enter & exit. A minor detail to stay safe. When entering the hotel there is a door with a sensor, but the staff know if you are part of a safari and they will open the 'other' door that doesn't require you to pass through the sensor. It is a bit humorous as the sensor always beeps but no one seems to be too worried about that. When you check out of the hotel, once you 'check' out, you will be given a slip of paper that notes you have officially checked out and may be asked for this at the door when you depart.

Room Tip: The sliding door of your room will open, so if you like fresh air this is good, if you find it too n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    247
    145
    57
    32
See reviews for
83
95
50
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our stay was in July of this year when Nairobi and Kenya in general was in the midst of a visitors boom and room rates were sky high.
We previously stayed at the hotel some four year ago ( when the rate was $120 compared to $300 now!). At that time the hotel was 'tired' and required refurbishment but the personnel were excellent and with the expected hospitality business attitude of going the extra mile to please guests. We frequently travel to Dubai where the hotel industry recruits a large number of Kenyans and it is always a delight to be served by them.

However this time it was obvious that extensive refurbishment works and investment has greatly improved the condition of the hotel generally, rooms, common areas, restaurant. It seems that there has been a brain drain of staff away from Kenya and the current staff seem to have lost the warmth and positive serving attitude, rules are adhered to without flexibility or understanding.

We were travelling with little children and after the first morning of chaos at the buffet breakfast ( remember all children over the age of 3 are charged for this) , the next day we decided to have a la carte in the lobby cafe. It took almost an hour for simple breakfast of eggs, toast, fruit to arrive. The receptionist at the Ambassador desk promised that the duty manager will be in touch to deal with future booking query. Nobody contacted! Staff at entrance door would stand, hands crossed , whilst I packed the strollers, etc in the car, everyday. These are just a few examples of the ' could not care less' attitude! Such a shame as it is a great hotel in a wonderful location.

On returning from safari we decided to cancel the two rooms booked and try the hilton. The day before getting back to Nairobi I phoned the intercontinental to be absolutely sure that the rooms had been cancelled and was told that only one room had been cancelled! Had I not phoned, no doubt my credit card would have been charged as a no show.

The Hilton was much cheaper and vastly superior service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
JosephLondoner,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.
I would like to offer a sincere apology the hotel staff did not meet your expectations.
While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Two nights stay as safari precursor on an organised trip so no idea of the hotel cost. Arrived late at night, out all day/evening left the last morning after breakfast so only real comments are on the room and breakfast. Both were fine and check in and out easy.
Room is typical of a business hotel and everything (inc LCD TV) worked fine. Bed linen and towels excellent and spotless, bed very comfy and good pillows. Bathroom could do with updating and a makeover, but toiletries good and it all worked. Complimentary water as well as tea/coffee making useful. Room quiet (4th floor rear facing).
Breakfast was a typical but quite good buffet with reasonable choice, service a little variable. Oddly had to sign for breakfast even though included in the room/tour.
Security a little variable as we seemed to exit through the detector and enter through the unmonitored door - did see a number of people being stopped though, so there is some security!
Overall much better than we expected from some of the reviews which seem a little harsh based on our experience.

Room Tip: Front rooms better view, but no sensible numbering to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Like many other reviewers, a friend and I stayed here for two nights upon arrival in Nairobi before setting off on our safari. It was clear based on the others we saw in the hotel that this is a target market for this hotel.

The location seemed ok - we didn't walk anywhere nearby, but for purposes of sightseeing in Nairobi and accessibility from the airport, it seemed to be relatively centrally located (though traffic sometimes made a 5-mile drive seem like 50.) The lobby and rooms were fine - just that. They could use a renovation, but I've stayed in far worse. I'll second a comment from one of the earlier reviews of the hotel that it was "perfectly ok for its purpose" - which I think sums up this hotel perfectly.

One highlight of the hotel is the food on-site. Clearly not Michelin quality, but the breakfast buffet, which we had included in our room rate, was extensive, and the Indian restaurant was good. (However, had I had known that, as a vegetarian, I would be getting mostly Indian food at each of the other lodges we stayed at on safari, I may have gone for some variety.)

The only problem we ran across during our stay was that the one ATM in the lobby was out of service our entire time there. We ended up having to get our driver to stop at a bank as we were driving around town because we had not stopped immediately at the airport to get cash. One other item of note was that the pool/outside bar area was under renovation while we were there - it didn't impact us all that much because it was somewhat chilly while we were there, but hopefully that means future travelers will benefit.

All in all, I would consider staying here again if I go back to Nairobi - but that's knowing what I'm in for, which is a hotel that's "fine" and nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Like back in time.

Service was quite decent, I like to stay in town and not up in the hills or far out in embassy area.

But for the money you pay at IC, it is just robbery that the owners will not invest in their property.

There was CRT TV in my room from the 1970s and a clothes iron that was so cheap it did not even have steam, useless.

Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
539 reviews 539 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was a large hotel with sizable rooms, king beds and good furnishings. There was a sitting area and TV in each room. the staff at the desk were helpful and efficient. The breakfast buffet was terrific with made to order eggs, fruit, pastries and more. We arrived at a very late hour...2AM but were in our room quickly. It was an excellent start and end to our safari.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here at the start of our safari holiday and it was perfectly OK for the purpose. The check-in took ages as we had arrived earlier than the normal check-in time, but the staff were very courteous and we didn't mind waiting for our room, despite being very tired from travelling overnight. The hotel was busy with conferences going on. The food was good and the bed extremely comfortable with very squashy pillows and duvet. As Nairobi is quite high above sea level, we weren't too hot and slept very well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.