We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very good, clean hotel. Very helpful staff. Quite considering hotel is just of the main highway. Not close to airport so inconvienent for early morning flights.
Good shopping area close by.
Food execelent and many options available. Internet speed fairly poor, not surprising as it is Africa. Executive lounge had many options during happy hour.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    201
    125
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Taken out of the 80s, it needs urgently a renovation. Staff is very helpful, security is good.

Room Tip: Go for the suites, the difference is vast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed at the Intercontinental in Nairobi for a total of 12 nights in August/September 2011 (an 11 night stay and a 1 night stay). The purpose of my trip was primarily business, and I travel frequently throughout Africa, so I have a pretty good frame of reference.

On the positive side, the food was consistently good. I wasn’t served a single dish that I didn’t like. Room service was also very quick, typically taking only about 20 minutes. Additionally, the staff were warm and friendly, without exception. The concierge desk was also very helpful and I used them frequently for maps, dinner recommendations, transportation, etc., and to book some weekend day trips. The location of the hotel was also decent, within walking distance of many things.

However, on the con list…
- My first room (628) had the worst mattress that I have ever slept on in my life. Seriously, awful. The whole right half of the bed was permanently sloping downwards toward the floor – there must have been broken springs. (My second room (605) was much more comfortable.)
- Each room has a small tiled area near the window, where the desk and couch are located. The problem is that chairs moving across the tile make a lot of noise, audible from the neighboring rooms.
- The bathroom had mildew spots, and my toilet did not flush consistently.
- My first night there was a concert in the street just on the street just down from the hotel. While this is not the hotel’s fault, I had asked what time the concert would be ending and was told 8pm. However, the concert did not end until after 10pm. Had I been told the truth, I would have switch to a room on the other side of the hotel, because after a long day of travel I needed to catch some sleep before my early wake up call!
- The safe in my room was not functional the first day. I notified the front desk on my way to work, who assured me that they would fix it while I was out for the day. However, it was not fixed when I returned, and I had to ask again (to their credit, they were there very quickly after the 2nd request).
- I came from work one day and my room had not been cleaned, nor had my laundry been returned.
- The internet is SLOW, even by Africa standards (600 KSH for 3 hours).
- The spa needs some TLC. Only 1 jet worked in the hot tub.
- Both times, the porter that brought my bags to the room left them on the floor, rather than using the luggage stand (minor, but annoying, and not how it should be at a “nice” hotel).
- During check in for my last night, I was informed that there would be a 1 hour power outage from 5-6 for repairs. Okay, no big deal. However, what they didn’t tell me is that the hotel was running on a generator full-time, meaning that the air conditioner wouldn’t work. Grrr… Further, the power (and water too, as a result) went out completely from 6:15 – 7:45 the following morning. As this was a Monday, getting ready for work was therefore not easy. When the generator kicked on again, it was incredibly loud from my room at the back.

My opinion in summary is that for 1 or 2 nights as you pass through Nairobi the hotel will do. But if you have a lengthy stay, all of the little annoyances really add up, and you realize that you aren’t getting what you’re paying for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

For 2 days, July 19th and 20th 2011, my wife and I visited Nairobi,Kenya.We stayed
at the Intercontinental Nairobi and found the staff to be exceptionally friendly,courteous
and helpful. For our first day in Nairobi, the night concierge,Assad, helped us arrange a
day trip where he truly considered our needs and our budget.He found a great person
named Kennedy to drive us around the city. Kennedy was very personable and respectful
and made our day trip an amazing experience.
I highly recommend the Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel to stay at when you come to visit
Kenya. Also, ask for Kennedy to be your driver for a day.He's great!!!
Noel Mouldovan
Teaneck, New Jersey

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

As always the lovely door personnel, security, front desk, servers, etc. ware all so welcoming and warm. The lobby area was nice, our standard room was also ok. The spa was pretty disappointing, in bad need of updating and repair. The restaurants seemed to need the same kind of attention. VERY comfortable beds compared others in Kenya so the restful sleep was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade as the standard rooms are really nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stay in the IC Nairobi 3-4 times a year & I've known what to expect. Service is good & consistent, but not exceptional. The only reason I've not moved to the Norfolk is loyalty points. After checking out on my last visit I vowed never to return. The last 2 times I have stayed the hotel bar was overrun by raucous British Airways crew who were only ordering mixers, so they could add their pilfered from BA vodka miniatures & then openly throwing the empties on the floor. The same scenario happened by the pool with rudeness & contempt to other guests. I though the first occasion was a one off, but twice in a row is too much. I have chatted to many BA & KLM crew in the InterCon Nairobi before who up until my last 2 visits have been very socaible & knew how to behave. The hair that broke the camels back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Overall impression: I have an overall good impression of the Intercontinental Nairobi, Kenya. The hotel is already a littlte bit aged and all facilities not on the latest status. However everything on an aceeptable level and especially in Africa compared to others options in a very good shape.
Check-in: efficient and friendly
room: old style, with a nice bed as you always can expect in Intercontinetal hotels; TV is very small and quite old; no pay-tv is available
in-room service: efficient and acceptable food
bathroom: old but ok
Internet access at room available (free on Club level)
For business reason I would come back to this hotel. In overall I felt myself safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.