We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know a 5 star hotel when you get into the lobby, and this one IS ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“You know a 5 star hotel when you get into the lobby, and this one IS ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Upon a return from the Seychelles a week and a half ago I stayed my initial two nights at the Intercontinental Hotel before heading out on a short safari into the Rift Valley.
The evening arrival at the front desk was no problem as my room had been held, even in case of a delayed flight, but as Kenya Airways was spot on time it was the Nairobi traffic which delayed me in reaching the hotel.
I had requested 'my' suite on the 7th floor and it was presenting itself again at its 'Sunday best', fruit basket, a welcome letter from management and the bathrooms equipped with amenities of the finest pedigree.
Wireless internet is available but can be substituted via a dedicated wire solution available on BOTH desks in the bedroom and sitting room.
As a global luxury business brand the Intercontinental shows its class wherever one is found adn here in Africa the 'InterConti' is always a place to meet the who is who, dine in style with a choice of a half dozen restaurants or, and here is my favourite, use the 6th Floor Club Lounge which is open from early morning till very late at night.
A meeting room is available there, but should be booked through the lounge attendants for private meetings but there are otherwise enough tables to have a cup of tea, enjoy a quiet breakfast away from the bubbling crowd downstairs, have some snacks during the day and enjoy a Daily Happy Hour between 18.00 and 20.00 hrs.
I came a little late on my arrival day, courtesy of traffic, but still got some delicious canapees served from the little kitchen and a glass of chilled white wine ... very mindful the staff there are that it is service which matters to their guests and not bureaucratic application of time based templates.
It was another happy return and stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    248
    146
    57
    33
See reviews for
84
96
50
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
668 reviews 668 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We staid only one night in this Hotel so this review is not based on a broad experience. The hotel seems to be well secured, the staff was friendly and helpful (and efficient) the room we had was clean with the minibar missing. The big minus was the early morning gymnastic because of the too low shower. The room was what you expect from an interconti with the plus side that it was good isolated.

The hotel offers a nice pool and the breakfast offers a lot of choices and they even offer a lot of african items.

All in all nothing special but for one night nothing wrong as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The hotel is one of the best in Nairobi. The location is excellent right in the city centre. Staff are very good and the rooms and facilities are top class. The restaurants are very good and do a good bbq style buffet which changes each night. Whilst there I joined the business club for wifi and breakfast which was good value and in a nice quiet separated room on one of the floors. All in all a very good hotel and I would recommend for very pleasant stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Get to know staff as they have good tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The IC was a perfect hotel for me, though maybe slightly overpriced. There is a high emphasis on security at the gate and on the main entrance. Staff were friendly and the hotel public areas (lobby/restaurants/bars) were all of a high standard. Check-in was very straight forward. The room was more 4* rather than 5* but still very pleasant and comfortable to stay in. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I was stayed at the Intercontinental Nairobi for 1 week in early April 2011. I am a Gold Priority Club Member and Intercontinental Ambassador. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful as you would expect for the price of the room. The Hotel was typical of the Intercontinental look and feel although the room slightly smallish compared to other rooms I have stayed in elsewhere with the chain. The food is fantastic and should be at those prices. I recommend they Kenyan dishes. Very tasty. Room Service has an extensive menu from Italian, local, Inidan and others. The 24 hour internet will cost you an arm and a leg @ USD $26 for 24 hours which is highway robbery. The wireless was not reliable so cable/LAN was used for the most part.

MY MOST NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE: I have to say I did not appreciate the way the head security man treated my friend who is a local when he came to visit me to say hello and catch up. My friend forgot his ID on the first night so I came down to vouch for him and sign him in. I totally understand the need for security but he almost eye-balled and glared at my guest like he was a piece of crap. My visitor received almost the same treatment every time he came to visit me over the 7 days even when he came with ID. This is UNACCEPTABLE as far as I am concerned. I was extremely annoyed when my visitor came to see me on the first night and I was told I by front desk that I had to pay and extra $50 (maybe more from memory) if my guest wanted to stay the night. He was only coming up for a coca-cola and a chat. I asked Reception if they were implying that my male friend and I were sleeping together as I only had a King size bed in the room. The receptionist and security man back pedalled very quickly when I told them I resented the implication. I wasn't happy at all. It was like being in boarding school and as a 39 year old man it is not welcome nor appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if it is low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I am staying here tonight. What a disapointment. I have stayed at the Tribe, at the Crowne Plaza and the Palacina. All of them much better. This hotel is so old. It smells, its noisy, needing a huge upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed two nights in room #505. The hotel appears to have been grand once, but is now a little shoddy. The staff is great and the food is pretty good. A yummy breakfast buffet and good food by the bar/pool area. The area is safe for Nairobi, but to get around the staff recommend a cab – even for a ten-minute walk in daylight. The traffic to airport on a Friday night was the worst traffic I’ve ever seen – makes Boston and NYC look tame. I didn’t get to have a massage, but one tourmate did and she said it was really good – and cheap, too. Our room keys never worked. The front desk can do currency exchange or get you money back from your credit card.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.