We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Westlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Westlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have Stayed here 4 or more times over the last 18 months.

the staff are friendly the standard is consistent with southern sun hotels around Africa & is a generally comfortable place to stay.

Ideally located in mid-Westlands near several malls & near most businesses. this is a decent & ideal stay for a quick trip through Nairobi.

Room Tip: the rooms near the pool are nice and quiet, although a bit of a far walk. the rooms near the confere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    196
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
61
99
34
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

What a lovely place. It feels like an oasis...lots of trees, water and a gentle vibe. Staff are friendly, food is excellent and the rooms are very well appointed. The walk to breakfast (by the pool) I a great start to the day. An excellent business hotel without that glossy insincerity you find in major chains. Oh...and it comes complete with a pond full of tiny whistling frogs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lots of mosquitoes in my room, tiny room for a huge price. Large and noisy fan in the ceiling. Insects entering the room at night. TV pictures are not neat and channel list is poor.
The staff is cool and professional but the facilities are really old.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are most disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and we extend our sincerest apologies for the experience you had with mosquitoes in your room - our Housekeeping Department have since put corrective measures and procedures in place to ensure maximum comfort for our Guests.

Your comments regarding our rooms have been constructively communicated to our Development Team for consideration. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My stay at the Mayfair was extended for one day at the request of my client, , and all arrangements were made via my travel agent to spend the Tuesday night as well, and leave early Wednesday. However, when I got to my room at 20h00 on Tuesday night, so exhausted after a hard day's work and a successful project wrapped up, that I could perish, I found my bedroom locked. I was told by the hotel attendant to go and sort things out at reception. It was clear that their system had me as a trespasser and was not updated with the changed booking detail. At that point I was so furious and exhausted that I burst out in tears and threatened to sleep there and then in front of my door. The attendant relented and went to have my door card re-installed. Upon leaving the next morning at 5h00 I found that my safety box with my passport and travel documents inside was also locked and had, once again, to ask for assistance. I have yet to receive an apology for the trauma and upset which is due to the hotel's system obviously not being in sync with the travel agency. This has left such a poor taste in my mouth that it blew in smithereens the positive experience I had beforehand. The way I feel now, I would definitely request my client to book me anywhere else but at the Mayfair in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Thank you for taking my telephone call this afternoon, it was a pleasure to chat to you.

We will certainly approach the Travel Agent concerned to ascertain why we did not receive notification of your extended stay prior to your departure date and we will resolve the issue to ensure this does not happen again. Please note that without prior notification of your extended stay your Room Key will expire on the original departure date for security reasons. Furthermore, we have since resolved the issue you experienced with your in room safe.

Once again, we thank you for your most valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights from the 2 - 7 of June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival and throughout the stay and the service was very efficient. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to Kenya and was very surprised at this small but very cozy hotel. Full of gardens that surround your way to the room. The room was fully equipped, internet was fast, and size of room and bathroom were ok. Hotel personnel very friendly and willing to help at once. The best was the included breakfast, since it is served in the restaurant by the pool, what makes it very relaxing, and the quality and the quantity of the food were excellent as well.
One of the restaurant that serves the hotel "The Golden Spur" has great food and drinks and the atmosphere was really good. I really recommend this hotel, that is below price of other considered "top hotels", but it offers the same confort and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel gives exellent value for money and is well located. The service is exellent, the rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is very good, the staff very friendly. The management is always availible and ready to assist.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.