We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
CApe Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi this past week for four days, and it is one of the more pleasant hotels to stay at in Nairobi. The service is very good and the meals are very good, especially in a town where many of the meals could be considered average, or even below average. I was made to feel welcome at all times. The scenery inside the hotel is very pretty and the layout of the hotel provides a reasonable privacy, which is not always easy to come by. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the garden. There are two large pools in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    237
    62
    25
    3
See reviews for
72
113
37
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Overall good experience of stay in the hotel. Courteous staff, good service delivery,Decent food and accomodation- in short, value for money.Good memories for a repeat.Highly Recommended for both business and leisure travel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, even though short -the service received was impeccable, the meals were generally excellent (apart from the grilled chicken)I ordered one of the nights. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a terrible night, the room was dirty, we ordered food but it took so long for it to be delivered in our room, when my husband went to check on the food, he was harassed by the prostitutes at the bar, I don't think I will waste my money there again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jeanner2

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of service delivery you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that this is certainly not the level of service delivery that we pride ourselves on. Your husband's experience at our Bar has prompted an investigation as we are most concerned regarding this matter.

We sincerely hope that you will reconsider your decision not to return to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and I respectfully request that should you decide to do so, that you contact me directly in order that I can personally facilitate your reservation and ensure that you enjoy our standards and hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall very good, but current service quality improvement efforts need to be sustained.The check in and check out services were very good. Also the foreign currency services offered good rates. My executive double room was comfortable. The location of the hotel to the City Center and Shopping Center was just right and the facilities in the hotel were adequate, although the gardens and the exercise facilities could be much improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I travel very frequently across four continents, and have stayed at most of the best Nairobi hotels, such as the Sankara, Kempinski, Serena, Fairview and others. This hotel - if you can stay in a new /renovated and quiet room (I don't have experience of the others) - is a very good choice. It is somewhat more reasonably priced, with a lovely garden, very good rooms and very good food in their buffet type restaurant. Most importantly, the service from all staff with whom I interacted (and this was quite a number) from check-in to check-out was excellent - it is hard to see how it can be any better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Outside looks great the interior could do with refurbishment. I had greater expectations but was quite let down. The greatest part was the room attendant did a splendid job. Check in was a mess, so was check out and services at the business centre lived alot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.