We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service quality at Southern Sun Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service quality at Southern Sun Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall very good, but current service quality improvement efforts need to be sustained.The check in and check out services were very good. Also the foreign currency services offered good rates. My executive double room was comfortable. The location of the hotel to the City Center and Shopping Center was just right and the facilities in the hotel were adequate, although the gardens and the exercise facilities could be much improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
50
90
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I travel very frequently across four continents, and have stayed at most of the best Nairobi hotels, such as the Sankara, Kempinski, Serena, Fairview and others. This hotel - if you can stay in a new /renovated and quiet room (I don't have experience of the others) - is a very good choice. It is somewhat more reasonably priced, with a lovely garden, very good rooms and very good food in their buffet type restaurant. Most importantly, the service from all staff with whom I interacted (and this was quite a number) from check-in to check-out was excellent - it is hard to see how it can be any better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Outside looks great the interior could do with refurbishment. I had greater expectations but was quite let down. The greatest part was the room attendant did a splendid job. Check in was a mess, so was check out and services at the business centre lived alot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pays de Gex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A lovely colonial-era hotel -- charming and comfortable. It is the opposite of a big corporate hotel. We stayed with our kids in two connecting rooms with a small terrace facing the pool. The gardens are beautiful and the open-air restaurant (not the Golden Spur steakhouse but the hotel restaurant) is very good with lots of fresh fruit, fish and good vegetarian options too. The staff was warm and welcoming. The rooms are not large but have everything you need, with excellent beds and showers. The rate includes breakfast and free wifi. The hotel is close to the national museum and major shopping. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor facing pool have small terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during March 2014, one night at the beginning and one day room at the end of our Kuoni Leopard Safari.

We stayed here in 2005, 2007 & 2009 too, again around safaris. In the five years since our last visit the hotel is starting to look its age and I'm sure isn't too far away from needing a good face lift.

Its still an OK hotel, with the on-site Spur Steakhouse always a must visit. A nice improvement since our last visit is the in-room free WiFi service. The strength of signal depends on exactly where your room is located, strangely the day room we had near to the reception had problems connecting but the room half way across the complex had excellent service!

Both rooms had hairdryers. There were 2 power points 1 x UK and 1 x South Africa.

Room Tip: WiFi was better in rooms away from reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is a peaceful garden, swimming pool, restaurant and wonderful place to stay in Nairobi. Shopping malls and nightlife possibilities are at hand, service of hotel employee is very appropriate

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

After having some good previous expernices we decided to book again. This time it was a disappointment (putting it mildly). It started at our arrival. Our reservation was "lost". So i took a long time to get checked in. The room was clean, but outdated. The bathroom, a whole other story. Tiles broken, the bathroom door was sloppily mended, the hardboard side of the bathroom moved, the stop couldn't be removed (injured my toe) and kept falling back. Also the mattress had more off a concrete slab than a place of relaxation. Then there was the lady of the business centre. Printing out 17 pages took her 30 minutes and when we got them there were also pages with that were not ours. She kept instisting they were ours ( the pricelist of the mayfair hairdressing salon???) The binding of the pages..... she never succeded. After another 15 minutes she gave up.......the machine was broken(?). Then housekeeping came along and wanted to change the remote of the tv. According to her is was broken. To us it was working fine. She didn't want to leave before checking it her self, coming to conclusion that she was in the wrong room. Then came the check-out. Because we had an early start the next day we wanted to settle the bill early. That request already raised some eyebrows. We got the bill and upon checking it we saw that we were charged twice for the botched printjob. All in all changing the name, rising the rates doesn't change much in and in this case certainly requires improvement on the quality offered.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of product and service delivery you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that this is certainly not the level of service and product delivery that we pride ourselves on. Your comments have been constructively communicated to our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments as well as our Business Centre and corrective action is currently underway.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.