We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
GET 10% OFF AT OASIS REST
Ranked #14 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Compared to international standards, the hotels in Nairobi seem expensive for what you actually get in terms of value; the Southern Sun Mayfair is included in that. However, in spite of this I did have a pleasant stay at this hotel. The rooms were a little dated but at least comfortable; breakfast was great and all the staff we're friendly and willing to help. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers. It's best to get a room away from the main pool and restaurant as that can get quite noisy. The block near the secondary pool is also a newer build with better finishes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank rasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mauritius
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Well done guys on providing an excellent service. Transfer service was good...the driver had good tourism knowledge which is always helpful for spare time. Keep up the good work. Enjoyed the GM's 40th birthday party cake too!


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank terence89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bujumbura, Burundi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I spent 4 days at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi. It was amazing to see such happy and caring staff. Only for that I am ready to return to Southern Sun Mayfair. Their breakfast was great. The Spur and its ribbs ... Just wooow.
Only regret, the internet which is not for a 4 stars hotel. Need to be fixed as matter of priority. The room needs

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Jules6605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

wonderful tropical garden, colonial style hotel. very charming place. will always return to this friendly place. employees are very, very friendly and helpful. good to relax, good for business, good for a romantic holiday

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A definite 4 star hotel, grounds were extremely well maintained and very picturesque. Pool was
more than adequate. Room service was A1 and hotel restaurant satisfactory and reasonable.
Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were clean. We stayed there twice, once before our safari experience and then after. Both times had no complaints and was happy with the experience

Room Tip: First floor if you want to spend a lot of time by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the honeymoon suite the service was excellent, fast and with a smile, the package for the honeymooners is great. I would highly recommend the hotel to others, kudos and keep up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Micheal/Annjoy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Generally staff were courteous and available whenever needed. i like the location as it in a generally peaceful environment and proximity to and from the airport was good without being held too much in the Nairobi Traffic. breakfast was incredible. the wifi might need some upgrading. there was good relaxing space by the two pool sides and good fitness centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Mubanga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#16 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#4 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
8.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing