We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Serene!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Serene!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A beautiful hotel with great service. Rooms are nice with some great views of the greenery.Breakfast is good, could be better. Dining options are also good specially the Steakhouse. Liked my stay and will come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    213
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
63
104
35
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose this hotel to spend a day before going on a safari. We felt welcomed, the hotel's staff and atmosphere were amazing so that we really enjoyed our stay there. Especially notable: we could have the room at 8 a.m. already!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this excellent hotel . .We very much appreciated the very beautiful gardens and layout of the hotel ---- somewhat colonial in style . The restaurant was excellent and the breakfasts were the best we experienced throughout our 3 week holiday in Africa .The best feature , however , was the amazing friendliness of the entire staff and the exceptional service. We intend to return in the future to Nairobi and would certainly chose the Mayfair again .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed very briefly in 2005 and was impressed. Was interested to see how the new ownership had changed things. Lovely colonial setting in Parklands, very peaceful (except for birds in the gardens). Rooms could do with updating but my bathroom appeared to be new. Great service - they were kind enough to pack me up a breakfast because I was leaving exceptionally early and thus was going to miss it. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night en route to the Masai Mara. Very pleasant hotel to stay at. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The gardens are beautiful and the grounds are very well kept.
There is a Spur steakhouse in the hotel which makes it very convenient to grab something to eat if you are only saying 1 night.

The breakfast buffet is very good with a large variety of dishes.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly.

Quick transfer time of approx. 15-20 minutes to Wilson airport which is the airport you fly out of if you are flying to the Game areas of East Africa

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the magnificent gardens. Rooms in the Man building close to Reception can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

From what I understand Southern Sun Mayfair had its moments back in the day. However, these days it is charging high rates (we got a special for a $235/night single room), but the quality just doesn't warrant it. The service is good, that I will say. And the people are very kind. So my complaint is with ownership not making appropriate investments and approvements or lowering the price to meet the quality. There were lots of problems including a mattress that was literally higher on one side than the other. It clearly needs to be replaced. When I finally complained after the 4th day (I have a high patience level), they offered to replace the mattress, which I allowed them to do. It was appreciated, but it was also an old mattress. Also, out of the 6 mornings I have showered here, 3 were with lukewarm water and no water pressure. This morning it was barely coming out at all. I think the quality of a room can also be judged by the fact that they have cans of mosquito repellent next to the bed. The cardio machines in the gym (which are all set to a max of 20 minutes), are fine, but they blare the music so loud you can barely hear yourself think. Also halfway through my run on the treadmill today the pulled out some sort of toxic smelling floor varnish and started cleaning the floor. This was in the later afternoon/early evening. It was so bad it slowed my run, hindered my breathing until I finally cut my workout short. Finally, during the first half of my stay there was a massive leak in the hallway from the ceiling and they had plastic tarps covering the floor for a solid three days as water fell from above. I was surprised how long it took for it to be repaired.

I don't need the highest quality hotel-I work in development which means lots of nights in camping situations or without electricity and running water all together. But if I am going to stay in a hotel of this quality, then it should be reflected in the price. There are hotels that are FAR better (Serena, Boma, Crowne Plaza) that are similarly priced and are far higher quality. I also want to mention that while I was here, one of the people I was working with here had their laptop and ipad stolen from his room. The hotel replaced everything, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

Room Tip: I did hear that there is a "newer" wing. But I didn't see those rooms. My recommendati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed two nights here on a business trip and look forward to going back.
It's friendly, wifi works and is free.
It's beautiful - you wake up to a garden environment, not to a business hotel.
Breakfast is in patio setting - and it's very good.
Access is easy and traffic does not jam up in front of the hotel.
I never did figure out how to extract a decent flow of water from my shower, but it probably could have been solved by asking.
All in all - will request a room with a really good shower head next time but will certainly not want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.