We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Reus, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

What made this hotel stand out for me was the exceptional level of service. I had a bit of a problem and we required some assistance in organising a few things, the staff went over and above the call of duty. Particularly one of the receptionists called Rosemary, who really was the one of the most helpful and kind people I have ever encountered. I was really quite distressed and she really made me feel so much better, not in her job description I'm sure! I really couldn't thank her enough for her help. All of the staff are incredibly warm and friendly, and the addition of a bowl of sorbet on arrival was very welcome after a long and dusty drive.
The hotel itself feels very safe, if that is a feature you are looking for whilst staying in Nairobi. We stayed on two separate nights so stayed in two different standard rooms. Both rooms were clean, the beds were large and comfortable. One had a slightly newer bathroom. They were to a standard that you expect in a business hotel, not luxury, but clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was beautiful, with wonderful grounds, built in the colonial style, with some lovely lounges and incredibly quiet given it's location. The hotel boasts an absolutely fantastic breakfast, really one of the better breakfasts I have had, and definitely the best in Kenya I experienced. We ate lunch in the American style restaurant, which I wouldn't really recommend, it was below par I think.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    213
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
63
104
35
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great place to stay in Nairobi. Lovely colonial style hotel with beautiful gardens that are an oasis in the city. The rooms are nice if a little small and the staff are friendly. The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. The room was spacious and clean and very quiet. The shower had hot water and pressure. The site is nice. The breakfast was incredibly good. I didn't try the pool but it looked nice. There was several meeting rooms. I recommend this hotel very much,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've been a frequent guest at the Mayfair for a number of years now. In that time, it's hardly changed - which can only be a good thing. For high end Nairobi, this is great accommodation more so for its tranquil gardens in what is often a very hectic city. The hotel is not downtown which is a huge point in its favor. It's close to Westlands shopping district as well as a number of NGO and UN offices in the north and west of the city. It's always spotless and the staff are a great example of how well the Kenyan hospitality industry works. Ask for a room in one of the newer wings. Rooms in the old wing are a little small and a tad too close to the restaurant. Two lovely pools for a swim at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The two best parts about the Southern Sun Mayfair hotel are the beautiful grounds and the friendly staff. Though this was my first stay in Nairobi, my colleagues who had visited before were warmly welcomed back and remembered by name. Staff often went out of their way to help us - a room service staffer checked with the chef for me to help me navigate the menu with my dietary restrictions (celiac disease) and a security guard rushed to help us carry conference materials to our room when he saw us struggling with the weight. Our conference facilities ended up being quite nice, and meals by the pool were agreeable. The fitness center was totally reasonable.
On the downside, you can have a variety of different experiences with the room that is given to you. Different parts of the hotel have different types of rooms and character, and I happened to end up in a room with very poor internet and very loud frogs outside. I literally wore my airplane ear plugs to bed; they were that loud. The other negative was that despite booking in advance, our group was bumped to a smaller conference room than we'd requested because another, larger group also wanted to hold an event at the hotel this week. The smaller rooms were much too small for our group and not nearly as nice as the larger rooms, so we ended up having to spend half the week in the nice, large room and the other half of the week at another hotel. Considering how we are regular and loyal clients of the hotel, that whole affair was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard with the fountain, where the frogs begin their chorus at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here at a client's recommendation for several days in August 2013. The hotel grounds are expansive, with an excellent breakfast buffet, swimming pools, lounges, business center, etc. The rooms were acceptable, with comfortable beds and black-out curtains (which were much appreciated considering how I arrived in Nairobi after 1am). Upon my arrival, I received a card inviting me to a cocktail reception put on by the head of guest services. This was a very pleasant experience, and I spent several hours getting to know people from all over the world, many of whom were in Nairobi for vacation while others were there, as I was, for business. Overall a great hotel that I will happily stay at again on my next trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a package for a Kenyan Safari. Classical old place with a nice pool/bar area to relax in. Had adjoining rooms to accommodated kids which went well. Close to a great little craft market but not a whole lot else really.
I understand their rates might be a bit expensive though so stayed at alternative accommodation downtown at end of safari.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which presented no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.