We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“PRETTY GOOD HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel wasn't too bad. The staff were very polite but there was one thing that stuck with me. When the staff person showed me to my room he stood at the door with a blank stare. There was a long moment of awkwardness before a dug through my pockets to try to find him a tip. The food was just ok and the check-out process was painless. The hotel also hooked us up with a safari at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    169
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
50
90
31
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only stayed one night here. It is expensive and the rooms are pretty dire - certainly not what is expected for the price. However the dinner (buffet at Oasis) was better than imagined as was the breakfast the following morning. The rooms need refurbishing then I would recommend.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room overlooking the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip to Nairobi before movinf to Sankara hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and has beautiful architecture. However the rooms are terrible. Worthy of 2 star. Old linen and furniture. Bathrooms have old taps and I basically had a dribbling shower as there was no water pressure. What I did like however about the hotel was the food. The breakfast and dinner was excellent and probably the best food I had during my one week stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't judge a book by it's cover. The interior of this sprawling hotel complex is very nicely appointed, beautiful manicured gardens and ponds, staff and professional and friendly. Two lovely pools and it appeared plenty of business amenities. Rooms are standard hotel size but very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed a nice dinner and breakfast. Good wifi. Would recommend and stay here again. It is a true oasis of calm in what is the craziness and bustle of Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Southern Sun is a friendly and spacious hotel but I sadly can't recommend it. At a rate of $299 per night (inc breakfast) it does not compare favourably with similar hotels in Nairobi. Rooms are OK (unless like me you are unlucky enough to have a twin room) although they lack plug sockets meaning charging anything (except on the desk IF they sockets work, one of my two didn't) means moving furniture and unplugging either lights or the TV. The floor was a slippery varnished wooden deathtrap, there was no minibar, no iron or ironing board (although after the third time of asking one of each was eventually supplied - the iron did mark one of my shirts though) and the wardrobe did not have doors - nor were there quite basic amenities such as robes. Probably the biggest let down of the stay was being situated a few feet from the bar (which is the case for quite a few rooms) where breakfast is served and fairly rowdy drinking goes on until the early hours meaning that I was woken up by poeple making a racket and kept awake by the self same. I moved out after a few nights into a much longer stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really comfortable for business travel and meetings. Pleasant and courteous staff. Priced slightly higher for what it has to offer. But I will certainly recommend and stay here again on my next trip. The breakfast has sufficient vegetarian options which came as a boon for me. The landscapes and courtyard is very nicely done and gave a pleasant feeling of staying in the woods.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Though this hotel at first sight may look a bit dated, it provides excellent facilities. The check in and out were efficient. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The hotel has all the amenities required. More a business hotel than a family hotel. Location is superb. Breakfast and room service were very good and a decent variety for vegetarians also. Casino is just in the next building which is a plus.

Room Tip: choose a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.