We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and overpriced dump with beautiful gardens” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dated and overpriced dump with beautiful gardens”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, I and our friends stayed at the Mayfair on our way back from safari. We had one night and one "day room", checking out at 6pm. Thank goodness, because we couldn't wait to get out of there. The only redeeming features of the hotel were its landscaped gardens and courtyard, which was beautiful and the nice and helpful staff. Breakfast at the Oasis was also nice with lots of options.

The rooms are this hotel's downfall. I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons, but at the price we paid through our safari provider, I was expecting at least a clean, quiet and comfortable room. What we got would make Motel 6 in the US look like a luxury resort.

The Mayfair hotel gave us what must have been the crappiest rooms in the whole property. They faced the street and our "large" bed was in reality comprised of two twin beds shoved together - a fact I didn't discover until we crawled into bed late that night, exhausted. This was definitely not disclosed upon check-in. The room was tiny, it smelled and the bedside table sported a can of bug spray on it (which made me check the sheets before jumping in bed).

Even with earplugs, I couldn't sleep through the night - the loud exhaust noises of the vehicles would wake me up periodically. Our toilet flush was very picky - you had to flush "just so" and try 5-6 times before the toilet flushed. Unfortunately, at 9am the toilet completely broke down and refused to flush. As soon as housekeeping arrived, they knew immediately the toilet was broken but "had not been fixed yet". I am usually level-headed, but I hit a boiling point at that moment and demanded we be moved to the room across from us, which housekeeping indicated was available. Once we were moved to the room across the hallway, I realized that other rooms at the Mayfair were quieter, faced a beautiful courtyard (and not the street), had working toilets and normal beds. Too bad, because I'm never coming back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    207
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
63
103
34
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 1 night here on way to safari. Nice clean hotel, but a little dark for my liking. The colonial look and feel of the hotel was quite nice but the frogs in ponds were a little noisy at night. The rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable. However, our room was on the ground floor and was quite cold and dark inside. The pool area where you eat was really nice with good choice of breakfast in a buffet style. Ate at the steakhouse in the evening which was only average. Did not get a chance to use any of the facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Southern Sun hotel on arrival in Nairobi before heading off on safari.The staff were very friendly & helpful & check in & check out were very swift. The room was ok, not amazing but it had a comfy bed & it was clean & quiet & just what we needed after a very long day traveling. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night, but ordered room service which was nice but not great. The breakfasts were delicious though with a wide variety & choice. The gardens of the grounds are beautiful with nice pool areas to lay in the warmer weather.
We would definitely use this hotel again if we were back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

A one night stay for business.

The Internet connectivity was very slow, and the laundry staff were slow.

Food was excellent in the steak restaurant and for breakfast.

Room was basic for the cost you are paying. Better hotels are available in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is my usual hotel in Nairobi as it is perfectly located for me. So while its not fantastic, its very consistent; check in and out is pretty efficient, food is good, staff super friendly and as long as you get one of the renovated rooms - the rooms are great.

The setting is really nice, park like gardens although it can be a complex to navigate your way around, but security is always on hand to guide you. Breakfast by the poolside is really nice and there's a really nice bar lounge for a nice spot to wind down at the end of the day.

Wi-Fi is less than ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite early straight from our flight and had to wait for our room to be made ready. It did take a while since we were early for check-in. The room was adequate, clean and averagely furnished. There was very little information in the room about the hotel and the facilities it offered.

Reception staff were not the friendliest, they begrudgingly carried out requests we asked of them. For example I asked for a few more bottles of water and it took a few reminders to actually receive it.

The ceiling fan was very dodgy, it nearly flew off the ceiling when we put it on. Our window had a rubbish view of a bricked and shabby courtyard and it got very noisy in the evening.
The grounds are pretty with gardens, a pond and outside pools. We also noticed a salon and many other facilities such as a gym.

The breakfast was amazing, such a huge range of food and drink. It's a shame it didn't open until 6am and that we didn't get chance to fully appreciate it before we had to leave for our safari.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate days whilst on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We found the service from the entire staff to be very helpful and friendly. On our last evening, the buffet was opened 30 minutes early so that we could eat in good time for our flight and the food prepared by the chef (especially the red snapper) was excellent. Special thanks also to the porters who carefully wrapped our giraffe for safe transport back home to the UK.
The gardens and poolside provided a very relaxing environment to relax after busy days on safari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.