We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Belvedere, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not too bad hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 1 night here on way to safari. Nice clean hotel, but a little dark for my liking. The colonial look and feel of the hotel was quite nice but the frogs in ponds were a little noisy at night. The rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable. However, our room was on the ground floor and was quite cold and dark inside. The pool area where you eat was really nice with good choice of breakfast in a buffet style. Ate at the steakhouse in the evening which was only average. Did not get a chance to use any of the facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    232
    61
    25
    3
See reviews for
72
111
37
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Southern Sun hotel on arrival in Nairobi before heading off on safari.The staff were very friendly & helpful & check in & check out were very swift. The room was ok, not amazing but it had a comfy bed & it was clean & quiet & just what we needed after a very long day traveling. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night, but ordered room service which was nice but not great. The breakfasts were delicious though with a wide variety & choice. The gardens of the grounds are beautiful with nice pool areas to lay in the warmer weather.
We would definitely use this hotel again if we were back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

A one night stay for business.

The Internet connectivity was very slow, and the laundry staff were slow.

Food was excellent in the steak restaurant and for breakfast.

Room was basic for the cost you are paying. Better hotels are available in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is my usual hotel in Nairobi as it is perfectly located for me. So while its not fantastic, its very consistent; check in and out is pretty efficient, food is good, staff super friendly and as long as you get one of the renovated rooms - the rooms are great.

The setting is really nice, park like gardens although it can be a complex to navigate your way around, but security is always on hand to guide you. Breakfast by the poolside is really nice and there's a really nice bar lounge for a nice spot to wind down at the end of the day.

Wi-Fi is less than ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite early straight from our flight and had to wait for our room to be made ready. It did take a while since we were early for check-in. The room was adequate, clean and averagely furnished. There was very little information in the room about the hotel and the facilities it offered.

Reception staff were not the friendliest, they begrudgingly carried out requests we asked of them. For example I asked for a few more bottles of water and it took a few reminders to actually receive it.

The ceiling fan was very dodgy, it nearly flew off the ceiling when we put it on. Our window had a rubbish view of a bricked and shabby courtyard and it got very noisy in the evening.
The grounds are pretty with gardens, a pond and outside pools. We also noticed a salon and many other facilities such as a gym.

The breakfast was amazing, such a huge range of food and drink. It's a shame it didn't open until 6am and that we didn't get chance to fully appreciate it before we had to leave for our safari.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate days whilst on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We found the service from the entire staff to be very helpful and friendly. On our last evening, the buffet was opened 30 minutes early so that we could eat in good time for our flight and the food prepared by the chef (especially the red snapper) was excellent. Special thanks also to the porters who carefully wrapped our giraffe for safe transport back home to the UK.
The gardens and poolside provided a very relaxing environment to relax after busy days on safari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well, i must say that after the very good facilities of the Fairmont group; the stay at this hotel was disappointing. It could be that we expected too much, but then one would expect it from a 5 start rated property. we stayed there after we returned from the Mara and after we returned from Amboseli )
The check in took ages. we were quite tired after the trip from Mara. The reception clerk took quite a long time checking our reservation and allotting us rooms. we had requested for two rooms, one with a king or queen size bed and the other with twin beds. The clerk found that to be an issue, till we told him that we would not mind if the rooms were far away from each other. The rooms were very poorly furnished. The view was the side road opposite the casino entrance. Half the view consisted of the terracotta roof of the loading foyer. It was a huge disappointment after the splendid properties at Sweetwaters, Mara and Amboseli.

On the second time we stayed there ( we had no choice since we had pre booked ) on our return from Amboseli; we requested for rooms overlooking the garden. This was a better view, but horrors!- the room had been freshly painted, and that too with the old technology solvent based paint and the fumes gave us a headache. we stayed out most of the time but had to sleep there in the night. Not a pleasant experience by any yardstick.

But all was not bad. At breakfast, we rather enjoyed the unique way the chef cooked an omelette and his crepes were also divine. we did not try any of the restaurants at the hotel since we preferred to eat outside.

All in all, we would hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: take a look at the rooms before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.