We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, some good and some bad features....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Average, some good and some bad features....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite early straight from our flight and had to wait for our room to be made ready. It did take a while since we were early for check-in. The room was adequate, clean and averagely furnished. There was very little information in the room about the hotel and the facilities it offered.

Reception staff were not the friendliest, they begrudgingly carried out requests we asked of them. For example I asked for a few more bottles of water and it took a few reminders to actually receive it.

The ceiling fan was very dodgy, it nearly flew off the ceiling when we put it on. Our window had a rubbish view of a bricked and shabby courtyard and it got very noisy in the evening.
The grounds are pretty with gardens, a pond and outside pools. We also noticed a salon and many other facilities such as a gym.

The breakfast was amazing, such a huge range of food and drink. It's a shame it didn't open until 6am and that we didn't get chance to fully appreciate it before we had to leave for our safari.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
50
90
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate days whilst on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We found the service from the entire staff to be very helpful and friendly. On our last evening, the buffet was opened 30 minutes early so that we could eat in good time for our flight and the food prepared by the chef (especially the red snapper) was excellent. Special thanks also to the porters who carefully wrapped our giraffe for safe transport back home to the UK.
The gardens and poolside provided a very relaxing environment to relax after busy days on safari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well, i must say that after the very good facilities of the Fairmont group; the stay at this hotel was disappointing. It could be that we expected too much, but then one would expect it from a 5 start rated property. we stayed there after we returned from the Mara and after we returned from Amboseli )
The check in took ages. we were quite tired after the trip from Mara. The reception clerk took quite a long time checking our reservation and allotting us rooms. we had requested for two rooms, one with a king or queen size bed and the other with twin beds. The clerk found that to be an issue, till we told him that we would not mind if the rooms were far away from each other. The rooms were very poorly furnished. The view was the side road opposite the casino entrance. Half the view consisted of the terracotta roof of the loading foyer. It was a huge disappointment after the splendid properties at Sweetwaters, Mara and Amboseli.

On the second time we stayed there ( we had no choice since we had pre booked ) on our return from Amboseli; we requested for rooms overlooking the garden. This was a better view, but horrors!- the room had been freshly painted, and that too with the old technology solvent based paint and the fumes gave us a headache. we stayed out most of the time but had to sleep there in the night. Not a pleasant experience by any yardstick.

But all was not bad. At breakfast, we rather enjoyed the unique way the chef cooked an omelette and his crepes were also divine. we did not try any of the restaurants at the hotel since we preferred to eat outside.

All in all, we would hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: take a look at the rooms before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on our way to and from safari (Masai Mara and Amboseli) and while the staff were very nice and helpful, we were pretty disappointed in our rooms. First, we booked non-smoking, joining rooms and had to wait 30 min for new rooms because the joining rooms were smoking. Second, maybe we were in the least-renovated part of the hotel but we got the feeling that things just weren't maintained very well. For example, the windows wouldn't close completely so mosquitos came and went, the bathtub looked like it was installed on top of the old one and was impossible for my elderly mother to get in and out of (both being too high - 25cm above the floor and the handle on the wall falling off), and the mat in the bathtub was completely stained with mildew. Finally, we should have put the "do not disturb" sign on the door, as housekeeping knocked at 8am to clean the room.

The grounds of the hotel were quite lovely and the restaurant was great, with good food and good service so we weren't completely disappointed.

I believe that there is a newer part of the hotel so by all means, request a renovated room and you should have a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

the hotel had a lovely ambience.....green and nice. the poolside area is great.....the food was good.....the rooms were neat and okay.....on the whole a comfortable ambience and a good place to stay in

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago/Midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Southern Sun Mayfair the night before flying out to Amboseli on safari. We had been on safari for a week prior to staying at the Southern Sun and we REALLY needed to have some clothes laundered. It was around 7:00 p.m. when we checked in and asked if there wasn't somewhere that we could go to wash our clothes. Several people were asked if there was a laundromat but no one seemed to know what that was. They said that they had a laundry service but that it was too late to get our clothes back. One of the managers was contacted and he kindly agreed to send our clothes to the laundry department and assured us they were be back to us in the morning; they were!! A very kind gesture that really helped us out!! The grounds are simply beautiful especially the pool area. Our breakfast poolside was wonderful. There was a wide selection of hot and cold foods and the atmosphere ( a lovely table poolside) was a nice way to start our morning. The room that we had, however, was in real need of updating. Our room was also facing the street and in Nairobi that is not necessarily a good thing; traffic is horrid thus our room was quite noisy. If I were to return to Nairobi and needed a room I probably would not return even though the customer service was outstanding. The room was just not worth what we paid for it!

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Southern Sun Mayfair 4 times for work. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the staff professional, nice and responsive. The breakfast and gym are good.

Even though the hotel is very nice, the rates are a bit excessive for what it is (USD299/night). Also, the dinner menu is a bit limited (especially if you're a vegetarian), and the water bottles provided are ridiculously small (and wasteful).

I would definitely recommend this hotel, assuming your budget allows for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
Jacaranda Hotel
Jacaranda Hotel
#41 of 96 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
City Center, Po...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.