We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business and leisure stopover in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Best Business and leisure stopover in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Simply the best place to stay in nairobi, westlands, easy access to Westlands properties and not miles away from city centre. Wifi works like a dream. staff are superb!General manager is "awesome" for lack of a better word. there is no such thing as NO. Best value for money. Not sure why more safari companies are not using it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    196
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
61
99
34
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed here twice...am actually writing this from my room right now. It is a beautiful, colonial era hotel. The courtyard is the scenic highlight of the place: giant old trees, a nice pool, bar and restaurant by the pool. I really like the first floor rooms that have French doors opening to the courtyard. And the staff has been wonderful at every turn. Friendly, courteous, helpful at every turn. The cost is lower or the same as other hotels in the area that are lower quality and lack the charm. It has been renovated so you have nice amenities, but the classic feel was carefully maintained. I'm looking forward to coming back here with my wife.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor rooms which have patios on the courtyard. Not as private (if that's you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed for 3 hours at the hotel. Surely it was good but the price for 1 night it is unacceptable. Surely it is not value of money. I hope they can decrease their price. I wish to go back in the first journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Mayfair is a beautiful hotel, especially for Nairobi. Nairobi hotels are in general outrageously expensive for what you get, compared to most other developing country cities. However, the Mayfair made up for the price with a combination of beautiful public areas and gardens, outstanding and friendly staff, excellent breakfast and reasonably nice room. The hotel is also in a very convenient area for Nairobi, allowing one to even walk around a bit - a true rarity! It is located within walking distance of Sarit Center and Westgate Mall, with a good souvenir stall complex on the way. It would also be walking distance to the museum and downtown, but we were advised that this direction is too dangerous. However, it is easy and cheap (plus a fun local experience - for a short distance, anyways) to take one of the matatu shared buses. Overall, an surprisingly good experience in Nairobi!

Room Tip: If you value your sleep, as for a room away from the road, from the primary pool and from the frogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A really great place in such controversual city as Nairobi is - qiuet, green while close to the center and main roads. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Quality of the food requires a special remark. We were group of 6 planned to start safari next day upon arrival to Nairobi, but decided to stay in the hotel one more day - to celebrate New Year 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Well worth the price. This is a nice hotel, clean and excellent service. I spent several night here and enjoyed my stay. The attached restaurant offers up some really good steaks. The hotel is close to several amenities and night clubs. Walking distance to two of Nairobi's larger malls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our party of 7 came into the airport at Nairobi late, tired, and hungry. We were greeted by a very nice driver from the hotel who took care of everything. We found the hotel to be lovely and charming. But the best thing was the food - even though it was around 8 pm, the buffet out in the spacious and pretty open dining room was still open. We found a huge variety of excellent food, served by warm, friendly, and efficient staff. We were delighted, needless to say. Then breakfast buffet the next morning was just as good. An enormous variety of beautiful and delicious options and good coffee gave us a fabulous start to our African trip, although we couldn't resist lingering at breakfast and did not get off quite as early as planned. This is a very, very good hotel.

Room Tip: The exact room location is less important than the great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.