We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tranquil hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for the night immediately before, and after our safari. A colonial style hotel, with a tranquil atmosphere. After our overnight flight we wanted to get a few hours sleep, unfortunately only one of our rooms were ready, so we had to wait over an hour before we could get to our rooms. We were astounded when we got to our rooms - it looked like giant marshmallows for pillows, they were incredibly comfortable.
We ate at the restaurant by the pool for each of our meals, and the food was delicious. I was most impressed that the lunchtime waitress remembered what we had ordered and enjoyed when we returned a week later. All of our meals here were good, though more expensive than we had anticipated.
The grounds were beautiful, I particularly liked the fact that many of the trees had labels with Latin and common names of the trees on them. We didn't find the frogs troublesome, in fact it was one of the quirky elements we enjoyed. The area around the pools had building work in progress, so there was some noise here. Our second room overlooked the main road, but we were not troubled by noise (maybe because we were so tired?)
We had been told that there was free wifi in the business centre (we wanted to inform family we'd arrived safely), but when we asked at the business centre, we were told there was a charge. Surely guests should have free wifi, even if it's only for a limited time?
We didn't venture outside of the hotel as we were there such a short time, so cannot comment on this aspect

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    195
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
59
99
34
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here on a recent business trip. The hotel was chosen by staff from my organisation as it is just across the road from the office and I am very grateful for that! The hotel is very well laid out, with beautiful gardens, 2 pools and a large restaurant. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, with service always prompt and efficient. The rooms are a good size with excellent facilities. Breakfast buffet great and a la carte dining also good. The location is away from the centre of Nairobi, but is safe and there are a number of large malls and a curio market within easy walking distance. Be sure to chose a room away from the pools as any noise tends to be concentrated in those areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block near reception - these rooms are quieter than those close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for just one night while transitioning from one safari to another.
Mayfair has the most friendly staff of any of the six hotels and lodges we stayed at in Kenya. Colleen, in particular, was extremely helpful and prompt in getting our room changed because the one we were initially allocated had been freshly painted.
The rooms were comfortable, the breakfast buffet was top class.
We wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here one night at the start of our Safari and two nights again at the end. The location isn't great with a tiny front entrance with security everywhere and in a poorer, run down part of the city.
Our room was ok except the ancient putty glazed windows which let all the traffic noise in.
Breakfasts were varied with just about all you could want but staff were a little slow.
We had meals in the Spur restaurant which were a good size, desserts were good too.
There are two outdoor pools but never tried either due to the cool weather. One is surrounded by trees and shrubs with loungers, the other is by the restaurant with just chairs, no good. for lounging. Staff were very friendly and there were a lot of them. If you like birds there are plenty, Hornbills, Sunbirds, Weavers and more. There is building work going on on two side of the hotel which was quite noisy while sitting by the pool.
We did go out for a walk to a mall but felt very uncomfortable, after that we used taxis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel three times usually for thirty days at a time for work. The hotel is among the best at which I have stayed. The staff is most welcoming. It starts at the top, the hotel manager Paul and goes to the lowest level employee. Even the security guards, employed by an outside firm, are a cut above what you find in Nairobi.
The gym is a little small. However, there is not much else to say negative about the entire property. The restaurant offers a buffet and a menu. The rooms are immaculate and the common areas of the hotel are maintained to a very high standard.
The layout of the hotel with its many wings and low (two story) design make it a very safe and secure place. The location is much better than being in the congestion of downtown Nairobi. Shopping and dining are convenient to the hotel in that there is a modern mall within a ten minute walk. Very difficult place to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the restaurant/swimming pool. If your room is on the other side, (facing re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The setting of the hotel is lovely. It is an old colonial style building set in lush gardens. The feel of the lobby is great.

The airport pickup process needs a lot of improvement. It's the worst hotel car I have ever seen, Complete with breakdown wheel attached (you aren't supposed to leave those on.... It's dangerous..... The idea is to change the wheel quickly). The car reeked of body odour inside. It was so bad that I had to open the window. The manager really needs to address this. It is really bad. For goodness sake, buy a new car! This is the first impression we have of the hotel.

There is a rather silly security check at the hotel entrance. It isn't done properly which begs the question, why bother! If they are going todo it, then do it properly.

The check in process is sllllloooooowwwwww. Front desk staff aren't terribly attentive. They tend to deal with their tasks first rather than paying attention to guests. Training needed there.

The rooms are average. I stayed in an executive room which opened onto a garden. The view was pleasant. The room was well equipped (safe, hair dryer and even power sockets for multiple plug types which was a nice touch). The bathroom was pretty modern and well equipped. Soaps and towels were good. Mineral water is supplied for free.... Which again is a nice touch.

I can't help feeling that the room wasn't terribly clean. It was dirty. But it wasn't pristine as you would expect in an international hotel. The carpet never looked or felt clean. And in the corners of the room, those hard to reach places, I'm not sure a vacuum cleaner had ever been there..... Again... Staff training needed here.

Wake up calls work well. TV is good. Plenty of channels.

Breakfast is very good. Try the omelette. The setting for breakfast, by the pool, is delightful.

The hotel could use a nice bar with some atmosphere.... Perhaps opening onto the gardens. The bar is a tad dull.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times and have never been disappointed. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The gardens form a peaceful oasis and with the two swimming pools it never seems over-crowded. Breakfast by the pool always starts our Safari holidays off to an excellent start.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.