We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

we arrived into Nairobi on the evening flight from Kilimanjaro ,so when we arrived security was very tight and we were very glad to get to the hotel .
next morning we were delighted to see the ground lovely gardens and two pools and a small gym ,the breakfast was very good alot of chioce .
we never left the hotel due to the situation,after the election so we hung around the hotel for the day ,there are three shops to take a look at and we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.we celebrated the new year and the evening buffet was also very good ,lovely atmosphere.if we ever returned to Nairobi we would stay at the holiday inn again

  • Liked — food and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
50
90
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

The holiday Inn Nairobi does not sound terribly exotic or interesting, perhaps another of those bland, forgettable little inns where one spends the night in transit to someplace else.

However, the hotel is one of those truly rare gems: a place of considerable charm and worthy of a visit for its own sake. It is an old "heritage?" hotel of low buildings reminescent of an old colonial style hospital or extended guest house, set in lush and extensive gardens.

The gardens features massive, mature trees, carefully nurtured lawns, and beds of shrubs and colourful plants. Two swimming pools and brick walkways give the impression of a country estate, rather than an urban hotel.

The theme is carried on by the buildings themselves, with airy corridors, dark wood panelling, tiled floors, pastel walls, and those red-brick coloured tiles on the roofs and walkways. The layout, with open corridors linking buildings, reminds me of old colonial style schools and government buildings when land was still plentiful and cheap.

The rooms are nothing special, and have fans only, but they're modern and clean, and feature corniches, and parquet floors.

It's easy to forget that just outside this little haven is the noise and bustle of Nairobi city and that it's the 21st century, rather than colonial post-war Africa, when people in their woolen coats and discussed cricket scores over scones and tea.

  • Liked — colonial style atmosphere and charm, gardens
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We have stayed in this hotel two nights (before and after our safari to masai mara). Location is about 20 km away from the airport & Surroundings were residential. The hotel is near to a shopping mall (Sarit Center). Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel staff were friendly and helpfull.
The disadvantages were not many food outlets nearby (except in the shopping mall) and does not have any activities for kids .
In overall value for money and recommend for any one seeking a peaceful night in Nairobi.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, NI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

I stayed in the Holiday Inn, Nairobi for 2 nights prior to my safari on 17 and 18 October 2007. This hotel isn't very far away from the airport but with rush-hour traffic, it took about 1hr 30 to travel approx 20 kms. The hotel is well equipped with a small pool, a pool restaurant/dining area + an american styled diner which I loved!

Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff from laundry to porterage. I had to exchange sterling travellers cheques into US dollars as a lot of places request payment in US dollars. I asked the security guards on the door about exchanging money into dollars (as the reception doesn't exchange sterling into dollars.) I was told that the Sarit Centre which was a 10 minute walk had exchange centres and that it was safe to walk to it. Being a single,white female with blonde hair it was a little bit disconcerting as there are a lot of men sitting about. I greeted everyone with a "Jambo" and a smile and walked on. I had no dificulty exchanging money and walked back to the hotel with no problems. I would have no qualms about staying at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Liked — Rustic style, pool and american diner
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

There are some very good points about this hotel. The setting is attractive. It is near shops and restaurants. Staff is competent. Swimming pool(s) are large and clear -- excellent for lap swimming. But overall, it was not a brilliant experience. When Iarrived in my non-smoking room, the wastebasket had not been emptied, and there was a cigarette pack and some butts in the wastebasket. The windows were wide open, which I didn't think much about, since the weather outside was pleasant. However, it must have been to air out the smoky room. That night, the room was FULL of mosquitos. There was spray in the room, which did have some effect, but a net or incense coil would have been much better. Or keeping the windows closed or screened. The small room also lacked a clock, an iron, and enough hangers. Laundry was expensive, though reliable. Mine might have been bad luck, but one sleepless night was enough to scar the three day visit.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

For $170, I was really expecting more.

The hotel grounds are MUCH nicer than any U.S. Holiday Inn, but the rooms themselves are run down and motel-ish. We stayed here as a stop-over for one night, and then stayed at the Fairview for one night as we left the country...the Fairview is $10 more and WORLDS better.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I spent three nights on the way back from Tanzania. The room was fine but the atmosphere was not our bag. It seemed predominantly a business and tour bookings hotel.
Neither of the restaurants were much chop -- I really wasn't after a tex-mex, American Indian themed dinner in the middle of Nairobi (nor piped elavator music for that matter).
That said, the staff were great and grounds quite lush... there was nothing really terrible about the hotel and when booking I did find it really difficult to locate alternative, more boutiquey accomodation in central Nairobi without spending a fortune. (We ate dinner at the Palacina restaurant one night and the food/ atmosphere/ live jazz band were superb -- no idea about the rooms though.)

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.