We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, Nice Property, Rooms need updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convenient location, Nice Property, Rooms need updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I decided to stay at this Hotel as it is a South African Chain and I was told it was a good hotel. We get fairly good rates (for Nairobi).
To start off, i can honestly say that I cannot fault service, everyone was helpful and always willing to help, and the food both in the Spur (attached to the Hotel), and the Buffet were great and well deserved of the money spent. Included breakfast had a good selection and and is run 6-9 if i remember correctly, and the surroundings are great within the confines of the hotel.
I suppose my biggest gripe were the fact that the included free Internet is only for 1 device per room (I have a Kindle, and iPad, a Laptop and a Smartphone, and the extra cost was 400Ksh per hour. Yes there are ways around this, I was just not prepared for this, the connection also was up and down, with extended periods of down.

The other Gripe was the Room and bathroom, wile adequate, it does need to be updated. I am used to staying in newer hotels, and the older hotels generally put me off. As part of that same problem, I could hear every-time the person in the next room coughed, talked or farted as there was an inter-leading door between the 2 rooms, on the flip-side I am sure he heard me. Also, as the hallways are large, wide and very high, sound travels quite a bit. This meant that I heard people coming in late in the evening or people knocking on other doors to get in at 6am.
This is not a fault of the Hotel, it is just the way it is built.
In summary, the grounds are nice, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful,the food is also good, the only downsides were the Internet and the actual rooms and bathrooms.
Would I stay there again ? Its possible if other people are there but not likely if I am on my own.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the upper floors to be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    196
    58
    25
    3
See reviews for
61
99
34
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

From the huge smile from the Security Girl on then front door to the excellent breakfast service around the pool you get the feeling that they have 3 staff to every guest.

Hotel looks like an old colonial house a kind of Portuguese/English mix, my room was a double, clean and very comfortable with a shower that knocked me off my feet.

Some tips:
1. Some of my team stayed a in rooms around the breakfast pool and moved their rooms because of late night guests drinking and being noisy, so stay away from rooms around the main pool.
2. At breakfast eggs are a made to order by a really nice guy, however if you are in a rush, order them first and go eat your cereal.
3. Wireless in room was very slow, so don't try to send large files, like the rest of the staff business center people are nice, they close at 7pm so make sure you call and get your wireless access before then.

Looks and feels 5 star, but the restaurant near reception was disappointing, the TexMex decor and plastic menu just did not seem to fit with the rest of the hotel.... I found out at the end that it was a franchise chain.

In general very good, I will be going back in November/January and will ask to stay there.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 247, overlooking another small pool, rooms on this side of the hotel are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel gives real service!
Being welcome, safe, being pampered, to be in a beautiful place, my room was very ok -a bit average, free WiFi and with a great view on the beautiful garden..good food, nice people around; my second home in Africa!!
Everyone (also in the rest of Nairobi!) is so friendly, helpful and relaxed. The breakfast and diner; really good! Having diner at the restaurant at the pool is the best place; food is better, sitting outside, some days nice bands/music. And coming back every day someone at the entrance says; 'hey...welcome back, good to see you again!' the safety guards these details (especially when traveling alone) is very nice. There is also a great shop for massage/hairdressers/manicure/pedicure.
and the taxi drivers in front are very reliable; one is called Joseph; [--] he guided me daily, even when I needed to get off at 6 am he was always there, driving safe and even waiting for hours and bringing me from one location to another. Good prices too.

Room Tip: view over the garden or the pool (more busy in the weekend)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

calm apart from the frogs in the courtyard gardens, that is. historic, by nairobi standards. attentive staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Southern Sun hotel is a nice, clean, comfortable, safe place to stay in Nairobi and offers all the luxuries that the normal large chain hotels usually have, swimming pools, a gym, room service and a variation of restaurants. The gardens were very nice & well kept & the free wi fi in the bedrooms was a definite plus.
On the negative side our room was very average, it had no character, was dark and a little run down. We could also hear children screaming from the nearby playground all day and until 8pm which was a little bit of a nightmare as we were trying to sleep.
No iron in the room either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away no where near the playground if your staying there on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The service starting from the reception to room service etc. at the hotel was excellent. Staff were very courteous and friendly. There was an excellent security on each floor of the hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

When I last visited this hotel it was the Holiday Inn. However it has since been taken over by the Southern Sun group. While the hotel is located on the very busy Parklands Road once you step through the reception area into the gardens beyond you find yourself in a tropical haven of peace and tranquility beyond.

There are two restaurants, one by the main pool, and the other, a steak restaurant, in the main building. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and polite. Guest safety and security is a priority and there are plenty of visible security staff, but do not let this put you off as they are all extremely pleasant and very helpful.

We stayed here for one night prior to our safari and then had a day room on our return before we caught our flight home. Both rooms were clean and comfortable.

If you are staying in Nairobi then you could do a lot worse than stay here. I will certainly stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.