We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, need to improve service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, need to improve service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, it's got real charm, but they could improve on their service.
Booked airport transfer which didn't arrive, booked transfer back to airport and after waiting 30 minute had to flag down a taxi.
Also Got woken at six, politely by a wake up call that wasn't ordered and a friend of mine didn't get his wake up call the next day.
Room was by the pool which had a restaurant, even after it closed there was a lot of noise cleaning up. Plates banging, they could have done it quieter or better at another time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    170
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
51
90
31
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Nice room, good service! The hotel is located in the Westlands area of Nairobi, close to shopping, hospitals, and good places to eat and drink. The hotel grounds are very nice, lobby is impressive, and the rooms are well furnished and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is not cheap,but quite outdated, the rooms are clean and small and only good for short stays, the location is good considering nairobis traffic issues. The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast buffet. The hotel lacks the appeal of a world class hotel and they really need to do something about it as the prices are not cheap and the offerings are not value for money. But well i guess its the same with most old hotels in big cities you actually pay for the location more then anything else!

Room Tip: Dont get the rooms facing the street, they are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel over many years and the current management have improved it substantially. Food was first class (reflecting the current G.M.'s background). Rooms were comfortable. Staff friendly and always helpful. This will be my first choice of stay on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here at either end of a safari trip and despite it's previously positive reviews, we were disappointed to say the least. The hotel is very much conference/business focused - which is fine, but as regular guests we were given the impression that we were not as welcome as the business guests. The rooms here are nice, clean and mostly comfortable, but avoid 'executive suites' at all costs as they are surrounding the pool and bar area and are extremely noisy. The response of staff to requests to turn down the bar music (after 10pm) were ignored and the constant flow of people right outside the room windows meant that sleeping was an impossibility.
On the positive side, the breakfast is excellent and the options for excursions from the hotel are numerous and reasonably priced. With the exception of a couple of staff, most were unfriendly, unhelpful and unwelcoming. Not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the pool and bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul0026, General Manager at Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise outside of your room during your recent stays at the Hotel. We do indeed have entertainment in our Oasis restaurant which is adjacent to some of our rooms on some evenings during the week. This should however cease at 9.30pm and it is regrettable that this was not that case whist you were here. We will ensure that there is no repeat of this in the future.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast experiance but whilst we do indeed host many conferences and business people at the Hotel it is unfortunate that you found our people to be unfriendly. Every effort will be made to improve this impression in the future.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I love this hotel for its gardens, quite pol areas and simple but very comforatable rooms. Service is friendly and helpful. The main hotel restaurant ahs a great location but a limited menu with slightly disappointing food - although the breakfast is great there. I also like the Spur restaurant near the reception area. Overall, a great place to hang out for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I think this is one of the best hotels in nairobi, Hotel is huge and has a casino also.
They have excellent security 2 pools and a gym also.

Goods : Location, Food and Restaurants options, Secured, Rooms and Internet
Bads: Bit Pricey

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.