We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitos plentiful; amenities limited” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
10% OFF DINNER AT OASIS
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
USA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Mosquitos plentiful; amenities limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

There are some very good points about this hotel. The setting is attractive. It is near shops and restaurants. Staff is competent. Swimming pool(s) are large and clear -- excellent for lap swimming. But overall, it was not a brilliant experience. When Iarrived in my non-smoking room, the wastebasket had not been emptied, and there was a cigarette pack and some butts in the wastebasket. The windows were wide open, which I didn't think much about, since the weather outside was pleasant. However, it must have been to air out the smoky room. That night, the room was FULL of mosquitos. There was spray in the room, which did have some effect, but a net or incense coil would have been much better. Or keeping the windows closed or screened. The small room also lacked a clock, an iron, and enough hangers. Laundry was expensive, though reliable. Mine might have been bad luck, but one sleepless night was enough to scar the three day visit.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    188
    57
    25
    3
See reviews for
58
96
33
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

For $170, I was really expecting more.

The hotel grounds are MUCH nicer than any U.S. Holiday Inn, but the rooms themselves are run down and motel-ish. We stayed here as a stop-over for one night, and then stayed at the Fairview for one night as we left the country...the Fairview is $10 more and WORLDS better.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I spent three nights on the way back from Tanzania. The room was fine but the atmosphere was not our bag. It seemed predominantly a business and tour bookings hotel.
Neither of the restaurants were much chop -- I really wasn't after a tex-mex, American Indian themed dinner in the middle of Nairobi (nor piped elavator music for that matter).
That said, the staff were great and grounds quite lush... there was nothing really terrible about the hotel and when booking I did find it really difficult to locate alternative, more boutiquey accomodation in central Nairobi without spending a fortune. (We ate dinner at the Palacina restaurant one night and the food/ atmosphere/ live jazz band were superb -- no idea about the rooms though.)

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We visited this hotel 3 times during a recent visit to Kenya. Rooms were clean and comfortable and service very good. The steakhouse serve good tex-mex food for the hungry traveller.

  • Liked — restaurant & bar
  • Disliked — Pools small and uninviting
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi

Address: Cnr. Parklands Road & Msapo Close, Parklands | PO Box 66807, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN SUN MAYFAIR IS ONE OF NAIROBI'S BEST KNOWN LANDMARKS THAT FIRST ENJOYED ITS HEYDAY IN 1940'S COLONIAL KENYA. IT HAS BEEN EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED TO PROVIDE MODERN FACILITIES, YET RETAINS THE UNDERSTATED CHARM AND ELEGANCE OF YESTERYEAR. THE HOTEL IS SITUATED CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE AND ONLY 20KM FROM JOMO KENYATTA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WE WELCOME GUESTS TO EXPERIENCE THE TRADITIONAL WARMTH AND HOSPITALITY FOR WHICH BOTH KENYA AND SOUTHERN SUN ARE RENOWNED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Holiday Inn Nairobi
Nairobi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.