We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
FKF/CFA, Triad House, 83 Limuru Road | PO Box 63402-00619, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice walk with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a really nice place to visit to get our from Nairobis bustle and traffic. We went together with our two children, 3 and 5 years old and they both really enjoyed the whole tour. They managed to walk with us to the waterfall which is a really nice spot.
We brought our picnic that we took at the playground next to the offices. We entered from Limuru rd.
We will go back for sure.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    54
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great place to go for a nature walk. Love all the different kinds of trees here and the small waterfall is just beautiful... so quiet and refreshing. Go early in the morning to avoid the sun

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A forest next to Nairobi City Centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The forest is very green and natural. You find very many species of indigenous trees as well as wildlife and birds. The trees gives alot of a cool effect and especially to the nearby Nairobi City and the surroundings. Since it's very near the city centre, can be an ideal place to visit when you have little time in Nairobi.The only biggest problem as the forest nears the city is human interferences. Some of the government offices and roads are erected inside the reserve and this is actually reducing it's size and cover gradually. Any more new buildings plans should be stopped.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you live in Nairobi, you really should go to Karura forest. Excellent place to walk or bike with your family. The routes are really well laid out and signposted. A lovely waterfall and caves, plus other sites incl monkeys and animals. Karura is a peaceful place in the middle of a busy city. Well worth the visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great urban getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Nice and centrally located, decent trail system, could use better mapping and some slope stabilization, but one thing at a time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.