We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Natural Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Natural Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Karura forest is one of the few forests remaining around Nairobi. It is a great experience to have a walk specially early in the morning and have a healthy walk or jogging while enjoying the nice trees and plantation and have a stop to enjoy the view of water fall. Try to avoid going late around noon to avoid heat. Have a bottle of water with you. Don't feed monkeys and enjoy the relaxing time. If you have dogs, there are dogs paths where they can enjoy running

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“really nice walks in the forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

After living here so many years, we finally made time to go for a walk in karura forest with our dogs. It was really nice with marked out 5km, 10km and 12km trails. It's a large area so you don't feel like there are lot of people there. There are young ones riding their bicycles on the trails and stuff. I was a bit worried with our dogs because not everyone knows how to control their dogs and we saw two people being controlled by their dogs instead of the other way around. I would be wary about anyone with a dog especially if you went there with yours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Forest in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Karura Forest has few doors, where you can access it from different parts of Nairobi. Since it is very big, never feels over crowded, great sanctuary for weekends walk or run but still recommend not to go alone. Unfortunately facilities are old, poorly managed and unclean. There is a little fee to get in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaruraFriends, Manager at Karura Forest, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We note that your visit was earlier this year. We have since cleaned up, improved and added additional toilet facilities. Obviously, for reasons of economy and eco-friendliness, the facilities in the forest are 'VIP' long-drops (Ventilated Improved Pit latrines), and our FKF Scouts are charged with checking and keeping them clean. On walking alone, the choice, of course, must be that of the individual. But in any one day, you can see numerous singletons of all ages and genders walking or running. So far -- touch wood -- there have been no issues since the founding of the Friends of Karura Forest in 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Was within walking distance of my hotel. Beautiful interior forest. Waterfall was stunning to sit and watch. Some animals (monkeys, birds). Take a small picnic and just relax for a few hours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“so proud of karura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a fitting ode to Wangari Maathai! Came here for a geography trip and we had lots of fun in the river! The forest is very beautiful, very nicely maintained and has thousands of species of flora! The mau mau caves are a must see for any patriotic kenyan and oh what a lovely waterfall! If you have dog, by all means walk him here he will love it! Great for a trek or a bike ride too! Karura forest is a true gem in the busy nairobi city centre!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.