We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest in the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Forest in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Karura Forest has few doors, where you can access it from different parts of Nairobi. Since it is very big, never feels over crowded, great sanctuary for weekends walk or run but still recommend not to go alone. Unfortunately facilities are old, poorly managed and unclean. There is a little fee to get in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaruraFriends, Manager at Karura Forest, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We note that your visit was earlier this year. We have since cleaned up, improved and added additional toilet facilities. Obviously, for reasons of economy and eco-friendliness, the facilities in the forest are 'VIP' long-drops (Ventilated Improved Pit latrines), and our FKF Scouts are charged with checking and keeping them clean. On walking alone, the choice, of course, must be that of the individual. But in any one day, you can see numerous singletons of all ages and genders walking or running. So far -- touch wood -- there have been no issues since the founding of the Friends of Karura Forest in 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    74
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Was within walking distance of my hotel. Beautiful interior forest. Waterfall was stunning to sit and watch. Some animals (monkeys, birds). Take a small picnic and just relax for a few hours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“so proud of karura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a fitting ode to Wangari Maathai! Came here for a geography trip and we had lots of fun in the river! The forest is very beautiful, very nicely maintained and has thousands of species of flora! The mau mau caves are a must see for any patriotic kenyan and oh what a lovely waterfall! If you have dog, by all means walk him here he will love it! Great for a trek or a bike ride too! Karura forest is a true gem in the busy nairobi city centre!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Once worked here. Very serene, natural and beatiful. Nice place to jog or just walk. Very close to city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went to Karura Forest for cycling... I cycled over 25 km and I really enjoyed about the nature! Karura is really nice and peaceful place to visit. It's a wonderland in the middle of the city. And you can even see some wildlife! :) The entrance fee is reasonable and there's possibility to buy a map. (Actually that's not necessary.)

Definitely worth to go. One of my top choices in Nairobi! :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.