We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
| Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 89 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I live in Nairobi. This is the park I normally go for jogging. The park is very family friendly. You can jog, bike, walk, bring your strollers, etc. Dont be surprise to see monkeys around.
Tip: instead of parking immediately at the gate, you can drive up to another parking to avoid the initial muddy road.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    120
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for bikes and hikes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

When it is dry, I go to Karura almost every week. When it rains, the trails are muddy and not as pleasant for hikes or bikes.

It is a great place to bike with the kids.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing to have in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I go here at least once a week. For a massive city in Africa, it is really a blessing to have a huge green space that is clean and safe. The weekends can be busy, but never so much to take away from being there. A walk in the morning before work is an excellent way to start the day. Kids are happy to to the walk; butterfly season is wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent place for a green walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visit this place regularly with friends for a nice stroll often.

Best part is that there is so many places within here that you will not see twice - a definate for the nature buff and soo close to the city as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I ride my bike there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

There are few places where you can get away from crowds, commune with nature and FEEL SAFE. This is one of them. I don't know of any other.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.