We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice getaway from city hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice getaway from city hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went running on the trails on the smaller side of the park (accessed from Thigiri Ridge Road) on a daily basis. Super safe now that its been fenced off and has gate guards. Great place to walk a dog if you have them, but people there need to be more considerate about cleaning up after them.

The bigger side of the park (off Karura) has a nice waterfall to hike down to, but don't go alone. Better for biking on this side of the park. There's a nice soccer pitch with tennis courts in the middle of the park which is the best place to park before heading in, particularly if walking.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    74
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Space to walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We live in Nairobi, and one of the things we miss is the opportunity for walking and riding bikes safely. Here it's perfect... A cross between the New Forest in Hampshire England and Cannock Chase in Staffordshire! It was peaceful, calm and lovely to walk in, our girls enjoyed the bike ride , although I would recommend leaving the bikes at h
One if its been raining recently, it can get very muddy, but the walks are fab, the waterfalls are amazing and it's a great place to escape to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to have a good 15km walk or run..peaceful with all that fresh air from the tall trees around..great dog walk place too or a picnic place at the grounds.do not visit butterfly lake(no butterflies there,rather stagnant water)-enjoy the freshest air and go during weekend for more fun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Fantastic green space in the middle of the city... maybe some more signage needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This forest was under threat from developers barely a few years ago, and its great to see that real efforts are being made to protect it, because its a haven of green salvation in the middle of Nairobi chaos. Signposting is not ideal - luckily I was with someone who knew the way, otherwise it could have been really confusing. The paths are walkable and in pretty good condition (probably less so when its been raining, since they are mostly mud / clay), but don't trust the wooden handrails around the waterfalls - they are a little rickety! In all, a great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hiking Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were dropped off there and later picked up by our taxi driver. The walk through the forest was fresh and beautiful. We saw people carrying firewood bundles on their heads that reminded me of a travel mag photo or National Geographic. The waterfalls were beautiful and the hike back was nice. The trails are clear and wide and marked with directional arrows and signs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.