We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space to walk!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
Limuru Road | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Space to walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We live in Nairobi, and one of the things we miss is the opportunity for walking and riding bikes safely. Here it's perfect... A cross between the New Forest in Hampshire England and Cannock Chase in Staffordshire! It was peaceful, calm and lovely to walk in, our girls enjoyed the bike ride , although I would recommend leaving the bikes at h
One if its been raining recently, it can get very muddy, but the walks are fab, the waterfalls are amazing and it's a great place to escape to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to have a good 15km walk or run..peaceful with all that fresh air from the tall trees around..great dog walk place too or a picnic place at the grounds.do not visit butterfly lake(no butterflies there,rather stagnant water)-enjoy the freshest air and go during weekend for more fun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Fantastic green space in the middle of the city... maybe some more signage needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This forest was under threat from developers barely a few years ago, and its great to see that real efforts are being made to protect it, because its a haven of green salvation in the middle of Nairobi chaos. Signposting is not ideal - luckily I was with someone who knew the way, otherwise it could have been really confusing. The paths are walkable and in pretty good condition (probably less so when its been raining, since they are mostly mud / clay), but don't trust the wooden handrails around the waterfalls - they are a little rickety! In all, a great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hiking Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were dropped off there and later picked up by our taxi driver. The walk through the forest was fresh and beautiful. We saw people carrying firewood bundles on their heads that reminded me of a travel mag photo or National Geographic. The waterfalls were beautiful and the hike back was nice. The trails are clear and wide and marked with directional arrows and signs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A jewel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top tip - buy (500s) / take a photo of the map - the sign posts are numbered and clear, but the path color routes are difficult to follow.

What a find - this is a great place for a walk just outside the centre of Nairobi. The paths are easy to walk down and are suitable for walking, running or mountain biking. The waterfall is a must as part of your route. I went on a Friday and only saw 2 other people during the 4 hrs of walking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karura Forest Reserve to your Saves list