We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic green space in the middle of the city... maybe some more signage needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
Limuru Road | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Fantastic green space in the middle of the city... maybe some more signage needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This forest was under threat from developers barely a few years ago, and its great to see that real efforts are being made to protect it, because its a haven of green salvation in the middle of Nairobi chaos. Signposting is not ideal - luckily I was with someone who knew the way, otherwise it could have been really confusing. The paths are walkable and in pretty good condition (probably less so when its been raining, since they are mostly mud / clay), but don't trust the wooden handrails around the waterfalls - they are a little rickety! In all, a great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hiking Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were dropped off there and later picked up by our taxi driver. The walk through the forest was fresh and beautiful. We saw people carrying firewood bundles on their heads that reminded me of a travel mag photo or National Geographic. The waterfalls were beautiful and the hike back was nice. The trails are clear and wide and marked with directional arrows and signs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A jewel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top tip - buy (500s) / take a photo of the map - the sign posts are numbered and clear, but the path color routes are difficult to follow.

What a find - this is a great place for a walk just outside the centre of Nairobi. The paths are easy to walk down and are suitable for walking, running or mountain biking. The waterfall is a must as part of your route. I went on a Friday and only saw 2 other people during the 4 hrs of walking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonder forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Its unbelievable to have such a fabulous forest in the middle of Nairobi. Dr Wangari Maathai did a great job to ensure the preservation of this great wonder.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what a sanctuary. Who knew that you can be in the middle of Nairobi and feel like you're in the middle of the Knysna forest (back home in South Africa). No cars! No hooting horns!

The fact that non-residents are charged different rates (and that they want to sell you maps for KES500... so I just downloaded one on my phone) aside, I really enjoyed my walk though the forest. I did, however, see two small dumping grounds of rubbish (toner cartridges?!), which was not great. However, the walk down to the river was just what I needed to recharge. The forest appears popular for locals just coming for a walk / run as well.

Would have been great to have a bench here / there (especially at the waterfall), or a little kiosk selling snacks at the entrance perhaps. But if you plan poperly you won't get hungry :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.