We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests, Outdoors
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A jewel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top tip - buy (500s) / take a photo of the map - the sign posts are numbered and clear, but the path color routes are difficult to follow.

What a find - this is a great place for a walk just outside the centre of Nairobi. The paths are easy to walk down and are suitable for walking, running or mountain biking. The waterfall is a must as part of your route. I went on a Friday and only saw 2 other people during the 4 hrs of walking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonder forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Its unbelievable to have such a fabulous forest in the middle of Nairobi. Dr Wangari Maathai did a great job to ensure the preservation of this great wonder.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what a sanctuary. Who knew that you can be in the middle of Nairobi and feel like you're in the middle of the Knysna forest (back home in South Africa). No cars! No hooting horns!

The fact that non-residents are charged different rates (and that they want to sell you maps for KES500... so I just downloaded one on my phone) aside, I really enjoyed my walk though the forest. I did, however, see two small dumping grounds of rubbish (toner cartridges?!), which was not great. However, the walk down to the river was just what I needed to recharge. The forest appears popular for locals just coming for a walk / run as well.

Would have been great to have a bench here / there (especially at the waterfall), or a little kiosk selling snacks at the entrance perhaps. But if you plan poperly you won't get hungry :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1/2 day fauna and flora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The serenity environment was a breath taking. The beauty and sound from the forest habitats kept us guessing.oh!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice escape.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Karura Forest is a nice place to take a walk in Nairobi - and one of the few places to do so. Even on the weekends it's not too crowded. Just wish there were a few more nice picnic spots. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.