We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
83 Triad House Limuru Road | PO Box 63402-00619, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what a sanctuary. Who knew that you can be in the middle of Nairobi and feel like you're in the middle of the Knysna forest (back home in South Africa). No cars! No hooting horns!

The fact that non-residents are charged different rates (and that they want to sell you maps for KES500... so I just downloaded one on my phone) aside, I really enjoyed my walk though the forest. I did, however, see two small dumping grounds of rubbish (toner cartridges?!), which was not great. However, the walk down to the river was just what I needed to recharge. The forest appears popular for locals just coming for a walk / run as well.

Would have been great to have a bench here / there (especially at the waterfall), or a little kiosk selling snacks at the entrance perhaps. But if you plan poperly you won't get hungry :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1/2 day fauna and flora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The serenity environment was a breath taking. The beauty and sound from the forest habitats kept us guessing.oh!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice escape.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Karura Forest is a nice place to take a walk in Nairobi - and one of the few places to do so. Even on the weekends it's not too crowded. Just wish there were a few more nice picnic spots. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hike and escape from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Karura is a beautiful forest just a stone's throw away from the hustle bustle of Nairobi. It's a great place to picnic and do a 2-4 hour hike depending on which trail you choose. Watch out though if you're going just after a rain. The trail washes out and gets pretty muddy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely, Tranquil, If Not Exciting, Place, Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Totally Agee with previous positive comments, this park is a special place and well worth a visit! It is more forest than jungle. Print out a map on line as signage in the park is helpful but could be a wee better. Agree, if it has rained hold off a day or two. The walk along the water falls is especially lush and the sound of the water lovely. The walk down to the Mau Mau caves has steps and is fairly easy. Park had a nice mix of Kenyans and Europeans. Felt quite safe. Not sure little kids will enjoy it but teens who are into Eco-systems, conservation, nature certainly should. Now, not exciting. But that's not why I went. Overall, a lovely time! Paid KSH 600 as a non-resident. I entered along the excellent road in front of the Warwick Center next to the US Embassy. Do take water bottles and snacks. Allow at least two hours,more realistically three.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.