We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice escape.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
Limuru Road | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice escape.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Karura Forest is a nice place to take a walk in Nairobi - and one of the few places to do so. Even on the weekends it's not too crowded. Just wish there were a few more nice picnic spots. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hike and escape from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Karura is a beautiful forest just a stone's throw away from the hustle bustle of Nairobi. It's a great place to picnic and do a 2-4 hour hike depending on which trail you choose. Watch out though if you're going just after a rain. The trail washes out and gets pretty muddy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely, Tranquil, If Not Exciting, Place, Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Totally Agee with previous positive comments, this park is a special place and well worth a visit! It is more forest than jungle. Print out a map on line as signage in the park is helpful but could be a wee better. Agree, if it has rained hold off a day or two. The walk along the water falls is especially lush and the sound of the water lovely. The walk down to the Mau Mau caves has steps and is fairly easy. Park had a nice mix of Kenyans and Europeans. Felt quite safe. Not sure little kids will enjoy it but teens who are into Eco-systems, conservation, nature certainly should. Now, not exciting. But that's not why I went. Overall, a lovely time! Paid KSH 600 as a non-resident. I entered along the excellent road in front of the Warwick Center next to the US Embassy. Do take water bottles and snacks. Allow at least two hours,more realistically three.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful - extremely muddy during rainy season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent several hours walking thru Karura Forest in early April - the big rainy season. We should have known better - all of us are in our 50s!!!! We were semi-prepared.

It's a beautiful walk, and there is good signage. You need to bring your own water to drink.

We had reasonable shoes on, but finished our few hours with mud-caked shoes and wet feet. Lots of slipping and sliding. Lots of laughing as in some areas there just wasn't a way of avoiding the mud.

If you've got decent wet/mud shoes, it's really a great stop. We'll be there in the dry season on our next visit, and I am eager to go again and enjoy more of the scenery rather than having to concentrate on exactly where to put my feet to stay upright.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great get-away in busy Nairobi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to remember Karura Forest the way it was 15 years ago when I used to venture there jogging with a bunch of people, when that was a pretty daring thing to do!!

Went back after all these years to find a perfectly safe huge place great for anyone to visit for a walk alone or with dogs, children, couples etc etc. Wardens are very courteous and it's a great get away in town to enjoy the beauty of this forest. Plenty to discover and see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karura Forest Reserve to your Saves list