We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - extremely muddy during rainy season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest Reserve

Karura Forest Reserve
Limuru Road | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful - extremely muddy during rainy season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent several hours walking thru Karura Forest in early April - the big rainy season. We should have known better - all of us are in our 50s!!!! We were semi-prepared.

It's a beautiful walk, and there is good signage. You need to bring your own water to drink.

We had reasonable shoes on, but finished our few hours with mud-caked shoes and wet feet. Lots of slipping and sliding. Lots of laughing as in some areas there just wasn't a way of avoiding the mud.

If you've got decent wet/mud shoes, it's really a great stop. We'll be there in the dry season on our next visit, and I am eager to go again and enjoy more of the scenery rather than having to concentrate on exactly where to put my feet to stay upright.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great get-away in busy Nairobi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to remember Karura Forest the way it was 15 years ago when I used to venture there jogging with a bunch of people, when that was a pretty daring thing to do!!

Went back after all these years to find a perfectly safe huge place great for anyone to visit for a walk alone or with dogs, children, couples etc etc. Wardens are very courteous and it's a great get away in town to enjoy the beauty of this forest. Plenty to discover and see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place to walk in the city..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent walking and cycling trail. Should Avoid going during the rains or after a good spell of rains. Well marked trails take you through 5/ 10 / 15 km trails!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a perfect place to recollect and relax looking at the trees and listening to the music c=from the birds. Good for retreat, prayers etc and more so nature lovers its take you there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“felt safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Walked here on a Sunday with my wife - numerous Europeans and Africans. This a lovely urban park with pleasant but not spectacular scenery and good length paths to walk/hike along.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.