We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away in busy Nairobi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Forests, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great get-away in busy Nairobi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to remember Karura Forest the way it was 15 years ago when I used to venture there jogging with a bunch of people, when that was a pretty daring thing to do!!

Went back after all these years to find a perfectly safe huge place great for anyone to visit for a walk alone or with dogs, children, couples etc etc. Wardens are very courteous and it's a great get away in town to enjoy the beauty of this forest. Plenty to discover and see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    81
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent place to walk in the city..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent walking and cycling trail. Should Avoid going during the rains or after a good spell of rains. Well marked trails take you through 5/ 10 / 15 km trails!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a perfect place to recollect and relax looking at the trees and listening to the music c=from the birds. Good for retreat, prayers etc and more so nature lovers its take you there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“felt safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Walked here on a Sunday with my wife - numerous Europeans and Africans. This a lovely urban park with pleasant but not spectacular scenery and good length paths to walk/hike along.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have walked here twice this year. fresh air. plenty trees. lovely waterfall. i really enjoyed my self. will be visting more often i must recommend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.