We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
| Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a perfect place to recollect and relax looking at the trees and listening to the music c=from the birds. Good for retreat, prayers etc and more so nature lovers its take you there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    115
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“felt safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Walked here on a Sunday with my wife - numerous Europeans and Africans. This a lovely urban park with pleasant but not spectacular scenery and good length paths to walk/hike along.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have walked here twice this year. fresh air. plenty trees. lovely waterfall. i really enjoyed my self. will be visting more often i must recommend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indigenous Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely surroundings. However, since that side of Nairobi is more temperate in climate, it will feel like visitors are taking a hike in Europe or North America rather than Africa. But, still very lovely for a city forest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A friend and I walked for about 40 Kilometers in Karura Forest. We entered through the Kiambu road gate, and got we out of the park on the sides of Village Market. I must have burned a hundred calories! I wIll do walk again; but with either my dog, or with my bike.

As a suggestion, more signs should be pinned on the road and forest path. It took us about two or three hours or more to the waterfall, and to the lake. A map is not enough, and with it, it took us a long time to find the forest exit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.