We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests, Outdoors
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a perfect place to recollect and relax looking at the trees and listening to the music c=from the birds. Good for retreat, prayers etc and more so nature lovers its take you there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    61
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“felt safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Walked here on a Sunday with my wife - numerous Europeans and Africans. This a lovely urban park with pleasant but not spectacular scenery and good length paths to walk/hike along.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have walked here twice this year. fresh air. plenty trees. lovely waterfall. i really enjoyed my self. will be visting more often i must recommend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indigenous Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely surroundings. However, since that side of Nairobi is more temperate in climate, it will feel like visitors are taking a hike in Europe or North America rather than Africa. But, still very lovely for a city forest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A friend and I walked for about 40 Kilometers in Karura Forest. We entered through the Kiambu road gate, and got we out of the park on the sides of Village Market. I must have burned a hundred calories! I wIll do walk again; but with either my dog, or with my bike.

As a suggestion, more signs should be pinned on the road and forest path. It took us about two or three hours or more to the waterfall, and to the lake. A map is not enough, and with it, it took us a long time to find the forest exit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.