We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura Forest

Karura Forest
Muthaiga, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 2020285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have walked here twice this year. fresh air. plenty trees. lovely waterfall. i really enjoyed my self. will be visting more often i must recommend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    57
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indigenous Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely surroundings. However, since that side of Nairobi is more temperate in climate, it will feel like visitors are taking a hike in Europe or North America rather than Africa. But, still very lovely for a city forest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A friend and I walked for about 40 Kilometers in Karura Forest. We entered through the Kiambu road gate, and got we out of the park on the sides of Village Market. I must have burned a hundred calories! I wIll do walk again; but with either my dog, or with my bike.

As a suggestion, more signs should be pinned on the road and forest path. It took us about two or three hours or more to the waterfall, and to the lake. A map is not enough, and with it, it took us a long time to find the forest exit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Octoberfest rocked!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

went just the other day for october fest event held in the forest. the venue was oozing with loud music, a lot of german cultural themes and entertainment, great drinks by castle lager brands and mores great life due to huge enthusiastic crowds...kalabash band brought the "forest down" with their well selected choice of music...an experience worth looking forward too next year!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The karura beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The beauty of natual forest and sooo cool breeze....feels the best place to live under the music of birds

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karura Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.