We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Japanese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician

The Phoenician
The Junction Mall | Dagoretti, Nairobi, Kenya
020 3741524
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese, Sushi, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I went here a while back -we particularly enjoyed the Japanese aspects of the menu -the tempura and the sushi. I had a Lebanese entree, which wasn't bad -just not as notable. It is pricy, but the ambiance is great. Service was excellent. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good combination of Japanese and Lebanese food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was a bit bummed when they relocated from Westlands and thought the change in management would affect the quality of food and service but that hasn't changed. The sea food is fresh, and makes for an all round value for money meals there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sushi, not Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Take a look at the reviews and you'll get a clear picture: some of the best sushi in Nairobi. Not so amazing for Lebanese. The tuna avocado salad is a ridiculously good value and the special rolls are great. Head up stairs and sit outside, it's lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Sushi and Tepanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is one of our regular spots. Pheonician offers Japanese and Labanese cuisine, it is an interesting combination, right? Surprisingly both cuisine are very delicious. Restaurant is located in Junction Mall, on upper level. It is quite during the weekdays, however busy Fridays and weekends. They have two Tepanyaki tables, if you plan to dine during the weekends, reservation is recommended. Compare with food qualit and service, reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isiolo, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The restaurant on the 4th floor of Junction is great- Very nice decor, very good service, amazing sushi- for me the best in Nairobi, the fish is always fresh and high quality, the sushi chef Gem is creative and innovative and their menu is rich of original rolls. I love it! We tried teppanyaki last night, and it was lovely too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenician also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.