We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi, not Lebanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician

The Phoenician
The Junction Mall | Dagoretti, Nairobi, Kenya
020 3741524
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sushi, not Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Take a look at the reviews and you'll get a clear picture: some of the best sushi in Nairobi. Not so amazing for Lebanese. The tuna avocado salad is a ridiculously good value and the special rolls are great. Head up stairs and sit outside, it's lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Lebanese Taste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was not the first time we had Lebanese food.Where ever i had this great cuisine it was always inspiring the taste buds. But what we had from Phoenician Sushi restaurant was so horrible.
1.The meat and kebab was uncooked/half cooked
2.They provided potato chips as a Lebanese item in mezze
3.They provided a pizza which is totally tasteless as a Lebanese food (not pita bread)
4.Pita bread was not fresh

I feel the chef should visit a real Lebanese restaurant & understand what is real Lebanese taste, before imitating the fake ones.

More over the quantity was less and it was so expensive

I have ordered for juice ,before making the order i have asked twice to the guy if they provide fresh juice or canned juice and he confirmed that they can give fresh juice,but we got a canned one, which is tasting so sour.

We felt the service was really bad .It was the first time we were having a sushi. We asked for a suggestion from him many times , but he refused to give a suggestion. It seems these guys doesn't know what they sell !!!

We did managed to eat nothing from the order.
Even we shared our feelings, But they didn't respond & didn't say a sorry at all ...

I doesn't suggest this restaurant for any one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a great evening out in Nairobi with great food and nice atmosphere! Chef is amazing! Staff friendly and good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant in the Junction Mall is surprisingly good.

The atmosphere is quiet and conducive to conversation. The sushi chef definitely seems to know what he is doing based on the results.

The price point is better than the other restaurants in the mall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great veggie sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place has the most diverse and delish veggie sushi in Nairobi. Always a delicious meal. Cocktails left a bit to be desired and after order was messed up a few times, we resorted to beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenician also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.