We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi, not Lebanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician

The Phoenician
The Junction Mall | Dagoretti, Nairobi, Kenya
020 3741524
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Sushi, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sushi, not Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Take a look at the reviews and you'll get a clear picture: some of the best sushi in Nairobi. Not so amazing for Lebanese. The tuna avocado salad is a ridiculously good value and the special rolls are great. Head up stairs and sit outside, it's lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Sushi and Tepanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is one of our regular spots. Pheonician offers Japanese and Labanese cuisine, it is an interesting combination, right? Surprisingly both cuisine are very delicious. Restaurant is located in Junction Mall, on upper level. It is quite during the weekdays, however busy Fridays and weekends. They have two Tepanyaki tables, if you plan to dine during the weekends, reservation is recommended. Compare with food qualit and service, reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isiolo, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The restaurant on the 4th floor of Junction is great- Very nice decor, very good service, amazing sushi- for me the best in Nairobi, the fish is always fresh and high quality, the sushi chef Gem is creative and innovative and their menu is rich of original rolls. I love it! We tried teppanyaki last night, and it was lovely too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sushi is good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

You can see shefs preparing so many type of Sushi is very interesting. They are quite skilfull! They are bit expensive so select good dish (not only Sushi) from menu. Ask the waiter what you would like to have. They can advise good dish for you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I visited the restaurant on my birthday and I was pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Make sure you visit the top floor Phoenician at the Junction. I enjoyed the good food and lovely ambience on a week night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenician also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.