We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician

The Phoenician
The Junction Mall | Dagoretti, Nairobi, Kenya
020 3741524
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese, Sushi, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Lebanese cuisine at The Phoenician is really good. This coupled with the friendly staff and good services makes for a good experience.

I shall be trying the Japanese next time...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Sushi and Lebanese at Junction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have eaten at Phoenician couple times since we moved to Nairobi. We tried both sushi and lebanese which were very fresh, nicely prepared and served. Restaurant itself is located on top floor of Junction, which is one of few shopping centers in Karen district. Restaurant is busy on Fridays and weekends as expected but we were ale to find tables even though we did not have reservations. Their wine selection is very good along with other beverages. The place is not kid friendly though.... It does not even have a proper chair for kids. So definitely do not recommend it for people with small children.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Varied Quisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited this restuarant twice whilst in Nairobi. Once with family and freinds and experienced the Tapanyaki which all agreed was excellent. Then again later in the week with a group of 11. on this occasion we experienced a mixture of Lebanese and Japenese quisine. Again it was enjoyed by all. The atmosphere is good the restaurant is large and airy and the staff are attentive and helpful. The manager in particular was always at hand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“the best sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

as a sushi lover i make a detour thru the terrible nairobi traffic to have my sushis...
sjem,the philipino chef is the best in nairobi
even though one has to walk thru an impersonal shopping mall the junction to the 4th floor the restaurant, well decorated is worth the effort...
each visit to nairobi has at least 2x sushis....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Lebanese and Sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

How can a restaurant serve Lebanese food and sushi? Just does not make sense. The sushi is very average.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenician also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.