We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and adequate Capital city accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ACK Guest House

ACK Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACK Guest House
Bishops Road off Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and adequate Capital city accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Located in the heart of Nairobi, this is a guesthouse in every sense of the word. It is no frills and meals are set buffets with little choice. I wanted to get washing done after a month trekking Africa but they excluded underwear so I did my own.

Room was comfortable, the one buffet meal I had was OK and dinner and other meals were taken down the road 200m at PanAfric Hotel which had a great range of food.

All in all adequate at the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We think this place was overpriced at almost 7000 KSH for a double room per night. It's a good 10 minute walk into central CBD. Rooms were OK but not clean and bathrooms rather dirty. Breakfast is included and also wifi but breakfast is simple

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this Guest House in June 2013. My room was simple but clean. I could hear the people in the other rooms and the bathroom needed some serious upgrade. The shower had no pressure and really hard to adjust to a warm temperature. A copious breakfast is served in the main building but unfortunately every morning the radio was blasting "religious" sermons!!! We also had a very nice dinner for 12 dollars but beware no alcohol or beer are served!!
I paid 100 dollars for the room per night for 2 people and I think I could have had a better deal in a more modern hotel. The positive though is that there is a guard at the entrance and we felt really safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The setting around the facility is great and value for you money is great. Rooms are nice and well maintained and clean. Selection of food at the meals could use some improvement but food quality was fine. Screens in the windows would be a good idea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Basic but comfortable, staff really friendly and helpful, very secure with 24hour guards at gates, fantastic breakfast! If you are stopping through Nairobi this is ideal, although probably not ideal for those with very young families or seeking luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Though it is a far cry from luxury, the ACK Guest House Nairobi is located in a very convenient location and serves delicious food (especially breakfast). As others have stated, the hotel is totally safe and solid.

The guest rooms (especially the ones located in the behind the main building) are spacious and have all of the necessities. Since this is a religiously affiliated hotel, they do not serve alcohol. If you are in the mood for a drink with your dinner, you can take a very short walk down the road to the Fairview for dinner and drinks (sit by the pool if it's warm enough).

I've stayed at ACK several times in the past few years and always have an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Guest rooms behind the main building are more spacious that those inside the main guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The ACK Guesthouse is a safe and sensible place to stay in Nairobi. You don't need to stay in a fancy, overpriced hotel. ACK is a solid choice. It's not fancy, but the rooms are nice and comfortable, the breakfast is fine, service is good, and the location is excellent. It's located close to some of the very expensive hotels on "the safest street in Nairobi", according to several of my taxi drivers. The property is guarded and it's a short walk down the hill to the main area of Nairobi. The breakfast is a pretty good spread and was included in my rate. I had lunch and dinner there several times and although the food was a bit bland, there were plenty of choices and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACK Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACK Guest House

Address: Bishops Road off Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACK Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ACK Guest House to your Saves list