We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a step away from ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Place Conference & Training Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Place Conference & Training Centre
Save Saved
You added Oak Place Conference & Training Centre to your Saves list
Ridgeways, Off Garden Estate road | opposite Oak Lane, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just a step away from ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Oak Place is in an ideal location away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. The environment is quiet with lots of fresh air, and you will appreciate this after being the city, which is polluted and dirty. Oak Place is very spacious with amazing landscape.

The cottages are just amazing considering the rates, which are pretty reasonable. The furnishings in the room are contemporary and they complement the hardwood floor. The bed is very comfortable. The room is good-sized and very clean with a small safe (which fits your wallet and other small items but I couldn't fit in my laptop), an iron box (a lot of hotels in Kenya do not have this), and a mini-fridge. The bathroom is clean and there is hot water.

A downside to this otherwise wonderful venue is their room service and restaurant service. I'll start with the restaurant. The ambiance is OK, but that might be that there weren't very many people in the restaurant at the time. My only issue is the menu - they did not have very many things available as listed on the menu, and unfortunately, I have experienced this at a number of restaurants in Kenya. I'm not sure if some of the food items are put on there just to make the menu look appealing or if the restaurant genuinely has run out of ALL this stuff. Either way, that is not how a restaurant should operate!

Now to the room service. It took getting a hold of three people and a time frame of an hour to just get a menu brought to our room so that we could order our dinner. Of course, what we wanted was not available, for example sandwiches, and so we ended up eating the exact same thing we had the night before.

Other than the restaurant and room service, I would recommend Oak Place. If they addressed the mentioned issues this place would be a great local getaway!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
2
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Oak place has indeed established herself as a training, conferencing and weddings venue. The greenery and artistic landscapes is indeed panoramic. The location does not favor them though as its abit tucked in within a residential area and failure to advertise or announce their brand is at the least myopic...seems even the immediate neighbors do not know of the fantastic facility...That is neither here nor there though...my greatest concern is with their food...their alarcate menu though sounding sophisticated is really wanting...the executive chef can do much much better...besides, serving cold food on the three occasions that i visited is your last nail to an otherwise awful culinary experience to an otherwise well decorated and beautiful venue...they can also do better with piped music!!!! Not the PA system mounted within the fine dining section..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First time in Kenya and wasn't sure what to expect. Oak Place is absolutely gorgeous, service is great and staff are absolutely wonderful! My only criticism would be that the restaurant may need an upgrade if they want visitors to return but having said that, I would return anyway ad any lack of quality is made up for with the friendliness, enthusiasm and hospitality of the staff and all Kenyans we met here. Great conference venue and for weddings as well!

PS. Mosquitos are an issue irrespective if where you stay so just make sure you bring lots of mosquito repellant - mosquito nets are provided.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Oak Place is located off Kiambu road, along Ridgeway’s Garden Estate Road opposite Oak Lane Nairobi Kenya near the Windsor Golf and country Club. From the capital city it is Just a 30-minute drive from the city center, from the airport you can use the bypass to the Windsor round about take first left turn the second left turn leads you to the gate.
I liked everything about Oak place. It is located on one of Nairobi quietest and reclusive countryside suburbs. Their beautiful well maintained lawns and gardens, warm reception clean and beautiful clean cottages, the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets. There was an iron which I did not use but I confirmed it was working, hot water in the shower. The food was Excellent! Very well prepared tasty and very friendly waiters.
Their flower garden was the best for me. They have the most creative way of keeping you engaged. I could not help laughing alone. There are these carvings of shoes human heads used as flower vases and the funniest is the smiling mouth on the walls. Its worth trying when around Nairobi. Their prices are fair and their services excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Oak Place is a quiet, beautiful place with with maintained lawns and gardens with the Windsor Golf and country Club within the vicinity. I was warmly received at the reception and shown to my cottage in a little while. The cottages are very clean and the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets. They even provide an iron in your cottage just in case you need to press your clothes. I got a swift response when I failed to turn on the hot water in my shower. Sometimes the hot water disappeared, but I got it sorted out.
The food was very hot and tasty, I enjoyed it! The waiters were swift and always ready to help. All the staff I asked for any kind of assistance were always glad to help and were very friendly.
The only problem I noticed is that the place is in a low lying area so when the rains fell heavily, the walk ways and lawns got flooded. That aside, I definitely enjoyed my stay there.
If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and beautiful place to spend a weekend or hold a function (meeting, wedding, etc),I would definitely recommend the Oak Place, all thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Place Conference & Training Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Place Conference & Training Centre

Address: Ridgeways, Off Garden Estate road | opposite Oak Lane, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Place Conference & Training Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.