We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best South Indian in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chowpaty

Chowpaty
Shimmers Plaza | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
254 4443527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best South Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Note: there are several Chowpaty restaurants in the Westlands/Parklands area. I believe they are all under the same ownership. This review is of the Westlands location in Shimmers Plaza).

The menu has South Indian, North Indian and some Chinese sprinkled in. I think one can get better North Indian elsewhere (albeit not as cheap) so I focus on the South Indian. Chowpaty's strength is a wide variety of dosas, each of which comes in 2 formats: plain (no filling) and masala (potato/onion filling). Get the latter in order to be satisfied. The dosas come with a coconut sauce and with sambar - delicious. The puri is also good.

Despite boasting an army of waiters, service can be slow when there are many diners, but the waiters are friendly. Beware: parking is a nightmare at lunchtime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummy vegetarian food...reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you're looking for Asian cuisine with a spicy kick, this is the place to go to. With lots of moghlai and Chinese dishes to choose from, you will be spoint for choice without breaking the bank. Be sure to try the paneer tikka and triple schezuan rice..finger licking good!
And the dosas...paper thin and melt in your mouth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I always make a special trip to Diamond Plaza to visit Chowpatty when I'm in Nairobi. I'll have a bit of North and South Indian food. It's the first place I ever tried a Dosa and it is still one of my favorites.

I prefer to sit outside in the food court as it's a bit more exciting--but be careful of other places with similar names.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

One thing iLove about indian restaurants is the ambiance. The waiters were friendly and very fast in taking orders and helpful with the menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“right place for veg food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

authentic indian food is their speciality, a good spread of north indian, south indian food,other items too,but stick to the indian menue. Large variety of preparations well made, taste as good as the ones back home. Visited them after three years, they have added to their menu, was a very pleasent surprise.Was able to get my childhood favourite drink VIMTO, worth a try. Keep it up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowpaty also viewed

 

Been to Chowpaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowpaty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.